Bringing A Braun Ps 600 Back To Life

snap, crackle and pop
jgunn

Bringing A Braun Ps 600 Back To Life

Post by jgunn » 06 May 2011 19:20

Greetings all,

I'm a noob. To the site, I mean.

I recently acquired a Braun PS 600 turntable, it was purchased new by my uncle in 1973, two years before I was born. It was given to my dad when the tone arm return mechanism stopped working, and it sat in his basement for about a decade. Now its mine, all mine.

I've been fabricating a replacement tone arm lift lever (though I use the term "fabricating" loosely as I am limited to working in soft metals with hand tools like files and a hacksaw.) For those unfamiliar, there is a pushrod actuated lever under the tone arm that lifts the arm when its being returned to the cradle when a disc is done playing. The original one has more or less disintegrated, so the tone arm does really unpleasant things to LPs when they're done playing.

I've been documenting the process, but since I'm new to the community I thought I would gauge interest before posting a lot of photos. Is it appropriate for me to post some pics of the work I've been doing?

Also, my uncle (the original owner) was a service rep for a Boston-area audio company in the 70s and he had access to a lot more info than the rest of us. I have the owners manual (in english), the service guide with both an exploded parts view and complete schematics, and the original bill of sale. I understand these turntables are rare and manuals even rarer, so I will try to find access to a scanner and contribute those to the archive.

Cheers,
Jeff

Alec124c41
vinyl engineer
vinyl engineer
Canada

Post by Alec124c41 » 07 May 2011 06:53

Welcome.
Do post photos. See the FAQ at top.

Cheers,
Alec

Spinnr

Post by Spinnr » 07 May 2011 11:13

Jgunn.

I second the motion. Take your time, tomorrow will be fine.

Vinyl forever.

jgunn

Post by jgunn » 07 May 2011 19:40