Dual 704 Anti Resonator Repair help Needed

twice the fun
wktcknet

Dual 704 Anti Resonator Repair help Needed

Post by wktcknet » 15 Oct 2010 08:50

Hello, I am new to the Vinylengine forum but have owned a 1215 and 1228 since the 1970s.

I just purchased a 704 from a garage sale enthusiast who was having trouble getting it setup properly. It really just required the usual TLC like a good cleaning & lube as well as adjusting R20 to help lock in 45 speed.

After installing one of my spare carts/stylus I must now turn my attention to the Counterbalance Anti-Resonator. At some point a previous owner loosened the top screw that holds the resonator to the counterbalance. When I bought the 704, the resonator was just kind of laying down on the back of the counterbalance because it was no longer attached to anything.

I have now removed it from the back of the Counterbalance and a small rectangle shaped nut fell out. So now I have the Anti-Resonator, the attachment screw that goes in the back and the tiny nut.

After fooling around with this the better part of an eveing, I have no clue how to reattach the Anti-Resonator to the "suspension clip" or whatever it's called that's attached to the Counterbalance.

I would imagine at the old Dual factory the suspension clip piece was first attached to the Anti-Resonator with the screw & rectangle shaped nut, and then that assembly was next attached to the back of the Counterbalance.

I really need help on trying to put this back together. If any fellow Dual enthusiasts have ever had to re-attach the Anti-Resonator to the Counterbanlance, I sure could use your suggestion on how to do it!

Thanks in advance for any help.

3rd_Ear

Post by 3rd_Ear » 15 Oct 2010 19:16

Hi.

I didn't take that antiresonator apart myself, but there is this drawing from an old brochure:

http://img524.imageshack.us/img524/8502 ... nator2.jpg

Hope that helps.

safe1

Post by safe1 » 16 Oct 2010 00:01