advice please!

snap, crackle and pop
Fozzie
Great Britain

advice please!

Post by Fozzie » 28 Dec 2018 02:02

Hey guys,

newbie here...pleasure is mine and all. Looking in the New Year to re-vinyl myself, been an audiophile all my life though not had a TT since I was a teenager, a time where digital came, conquered and sadly swallowed me up with it, along with the mountain of CDs I ended up with. Most of which, today, are good for nothing barring a few collectables and rarities.

Any road....bottom line is I am keeping digital content resigned to the laptop and my portable device (160gb ipod). The LPs I love the most I am planning on purchasing on vinyl and of course I want something 'ok' to play it on. I've got a budget it mind of course. The TT is the thing that I can't decide on so am looking for some advice if poss.

Regarding amp and speakers I am pretty much decided on the Onkyo A9010 and Dali Spektor 1 or 2's. Just because I do have a budget for my first foray. I don't particularly want to spend over £600 in total on the entire setup. Well, I could spend more of course, but for now, I am pretty much decided on trying to get the best possible value for money setup as I can, that won't break the bank, but at least give me an enjoyable experience. I am well aware btw that £600 is not a lot when you start totting everything up. That Onkyo amp is £180 in richer sounds, and the Dali's are in a similar ball park. It leaves me with roughly £250-£300 for a player when all is said and done.

I did see a Pioneer amp retailing less than the Onkyo, and a Yamaha too...though judging by the postitive reviews of the Onkyo amp, I have leaned towards that for now...and the Dali Spektors look very good value in the low end of the spectrum.

The TT's I have shortlisted :

Audio-Technica AT-LP120 [£199 @ Amazon]
Pro-ject Essential III [£219 @ Richer Sounds] and Essential III Phono [£279 @ Richer Sounds]
Audio-Technica AT-LP5 [£249 @ Richer Sounds]