Installing Grace 707 mk2 Tonearm on Empire 208 Turntable-Asking For Input

snap, crackle and pop
Post Reply
wishkahdaddy
junior member
junior member
United States of America
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Jul 2019 18:16

Installing Grace 707 mk2 Tonearm on Empire 208 Turntable-Asking For Input

Post by wishkahdaddy » 12 Jul 2019 04:00

I just purchased a Grace 707 mk2 tonearm and will take it down to a local stereo shop to have the tonearm installed on my Empire 208 turntable. The gentleman who will do the work wanted me to ask around and see if I can find anyone who has done this modification and let me know if there is anything "extra" (parts wise) that he would need to do this?
He's done a lot of work for me in the past and is very well respected, I think he just wants to have any and all info possible and any modification parts in his hands when he starts. I'd appreciate any input that you may be able to share.

Thank you!

toaster999
senior member
senior member
Great Britain
Posts: 372
Joined: 11 Jan 2016 18:27

Re: Installing Grace 707 mk2 Tonearm on Empire 208 Turntable-Asking For Input

Post by toaster999 » 12 Jul 2019 18:23

just agree where to drill the hole for the tonearm rest

wishkahdaddy
junior member
junior member
United States of America
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Jul 2019 18:16

Re: Installing Grace 707 mk2 Tonearm on Empire 208 Turntable-Asking For Input

Post by wishkahdaddy » 12 Jul 2019 20:57

I've read where people say to use an armboard plate to install the tonearm on so you don't have to drill into the original Empire 208 platform. I don't fully understand how that armboard is attached? I've also heard where the Grace 707 willsit to low and the angle won't be correct. Again, I don't fully know??? I'm a novice at best, so just trying to find someone who has done this and can give first hand advice from experience. I can then share that with the tech.
Thank you!

toaster999
senior member
senior member
Great Britain
Posts: 372
Joined: 11 Jan 2016 18:27

Re: Installing Grace 707 mk2 Tonearm on Empire 208 Turntable-Asking For Input

Post by toaster999 » 12 Jul 2019 22:14

Post some pics of your 208 that would be helpful to see what arm is currently on there or the holes available.

The below listing shows the riser - but that 707 is a full extension on its height, so you may chose to get a higher riser. Depending on whats there at the moment you may get away with an armboard plate/adaptor but this still needs mounting on the platform. Note on this listing the hole drilled for the arm rest though he has removed this.

Anyway, post some pics. I've mounted three 707 are they are pretty straightforward but any arm needs a hole for the leads to go through.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/EMPIRE-208-T ... Swr9Nc9K2U

toaster999
senior member
senior member
Great Britain
Posts: 372
Joined: 11 Jan 2016 18:27

Re: Installing Grace 707 mk2 Tonearm on Empire 208 Turntable-Asking For Input

Post by toaster999 » 12 Jul 2019 22:21

And dont forget a template to install the arm in the correct place, available on line. Has your tech installed tonearms before??

wishkahdaddy
junior member
junior member
United States of America
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Jul 2019 18:16

Re: Installing Grace 707 mk2 Tonearm on Empire 208 Turntable-Asking For Input

Post by wishkahdaddy » 14 Jul 2019 15:17

Thanks for the info. Tech is very knowledgable and runs a successful shop in Austin, TX. He just wanted me to gather any specific info on this arm/table. I spoke with a gentleman on the phone who has done this same install. Looks like it's fairly straight forward. Thanks again!

Post Reply