New top plate, glue it or not?

music box
Post Reply
ikon_1497
member
member
Posts: 34
Joined: 29 Oct 2017 20:32

New top plate, glue it or not?

Post by ikon_1497 » 19 May 2019 18:45

Hi everybody

I would like your opinion about something.
I'm restoring an old Thorens td-160 super and I will replace the old top plate with a new one.

Is it ok if I just place it on top of the chassis and screw the whole thing on the plinth?
Do I really have to glue it?
Will I have any kind of problem (like vibrations or something)?

Thanks!

tlscapital
long player
long player
Belgium
Posts: 2005
Joined: 27 Sep 2015 14:27
Location: Brussels, Belgium

Re: New top plate, glue it or not?

Post by tlscapital » 19 May 2019 20:11

No need to glue IMHO. I've got me a "tailor made" thicker stainless steel cut by a friend mender and it just lays there even without it's screws (got rid of the holes on my new top plate) and even no glue. Evidently my new solid wood "tailor made" plinth, made by a woodcraft friend of mine, design allows that thickness difference on the edges visually.

Now the stainless steel thickness adds even more rigidity than the original thiner alloy. If your replacement new top-plate is also thin and prone to "curve" as the originals are, maybe the screws only might not suffice too keep it flat. This will only impair it's visual. About playback issues, I doubt seriously that it should have any incident on that matter.

ikon_1497
member
member
Posts: 34
Joined: 29 Oct 2017 20:32

Re: New top plate, glue it or not?

Post by ikon_1497 » 19 May 2019 20:18

Great then!
Mine is aluminum, it isn't very thick but it's thicker than the original.
I don't think it will warp in any way and I don't plan to screw it too tight so I think I'm ok!
Thanks!

ddarch
moderator
Posts: 1044
Joined: 17 Dec 2002 01:57
Location: Seacoast, NH
Contact:

Re: New top plate, glue it or not?

Post by ddarch » 20 May 2019 12:53

When I manufacture my "Super Reproductions" I sand off the old glue and then use new contact cement on the plate/top. Yes, I would personally worry about vibrations if left loose.

Alec124c41
vinyl engineer
vinyl engineer
Canada
Posts: 23097
Joined: 28 Oct 2002 03:24
Location: North of Toronto, Canada

Re: New top plate, glue it or not?

Post by Alec124c41 » 21 May 2019 15:54

I suppose that, should you be concerned about later removal, a bit of caulking putty around the edge would stop vibrations.

Cheers,
Alec

nezbleu
senior member
senior member
Canada
Posts: 318
Joined: 29 Jan 2013 12:55
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia

Re: New top plate, glue it or not?

Post by nezbleu » 22 May 2019 18:54

I found the top plate on my TD160 was a bit loose, and with a bit of heat came off quite easily. I removed the old glue (which was spotty, there were a number of voids) with acetone, then glued the top plate back with an even coating of silicone adhesive, which stays flexible. I clamped it in place with some boards to even the pressure while the adhesive set.

medwaybeat
member
member
Posts: 145
Joined: 17 Mar 2016 14:06

Re: New top plate, glue it or not?

Post by medwaybeat » 23 May 2019 16:12

I've never bothered or had any issues with any of my 150's.

nezbleu
senior member
senior member
Canada
Posts: 318
Joined: 29 Jan 2013 12:55
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia

Re: New top plate, glue it or not?

Post by nezbleu » 23 May 2019 18:23

medwaybeat wrote:
23 May 2019 16:12
I've never bothered or had any issues with any of my 150's.
"If it ain't broke, fix it until it is!" :)

terzinator
member
member
United States of America
Posts: 87
Joined: 07 Dec 2018 03:54
Location: Minnesota

Re: New top plate, glue it or not?

Post by terzinator » 24 May 2019 19:48

medwaybeat wrote:
23 May 2019 16:12
I've never bothered or had any issues with any of my 150's.
I likely have far less experience than medwaybeat, but I agree.

When I put mine back on my TD150 after building the plinth, I just laid it down and secured it with the screws. Never an issue. The glue on it is old and brittle, and I think you'd want the ability to remove it, if necessary.

rkay5
senior member
senior member
United States of America
Posts: 817
Joined: 17 Nov 2003 22:05
Location: California,USA

Re: New top plate, glue it or not?

Post by rkay5 » 24 May 2019 22:58

On the early TD150 thorens used 2sided tape. But the best way to go is glue.

ddarch
moderator
Posts: 1044
Joined: 17 Dec 2002 01:57
Location: Seacoast, NH
Contact:

Re: New top plate, glue it or not?

Post by ddarch » 26 May 2019 04:07

Some were double taped, not all

tlscapital
long player
long player
Belgium
Posts: 2005
Joined: 27 Sep 2015 14:27
Location: Brussels, Belgium

Re: New top plate, glue it or not?

Post by tlscapital » 26 May 2019 13:19

ddarch wrote:
26 May 2019 04:07
Some were double taped, not all
The notorious Thorens constant inconstancy in build... :P

oztayls
member
member
Posts: 105
Joined: 12 Dec 2017 08:04
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: New top plate, glue it or not?

Post by oztayls » 06 Jun 2019 11:07

Definitely glue it. It needs to be coupled to the deck. Easy enough to remove with a heat gun.

ikon_1497
member
member
Posts: 34
Joined: 29 Oct 2017 20:32

Re: New top plate, glue it or not?

Post by ikon_1497 » 07 Jun 2019 20:19

Ok guys, thank you very much
I did use glue after all, perfect result.
Thanks!

Post Reply