Please help ...

amplifiers, receivers and loudspeakers
British Raj
England

Please help ...

Post by British Raj » 03 Dec 2019 21:21

Firstly, I am not a techie when it comes to amps, pre-amps and speakers so please go easy!

Current Set-up
Rega Planar RP2 with an upgraded tone arm (looks like an RB330)
Arcam P77 Cart with Paratrace LowMass Diamond stylus that I invested in as an upgrade
A vintage NAD 3020E that has unfortunately styarted to hum a bit
B&O Beolab 8000 speakers

As I have concluded from a previous post on here, the integrated amplifier is actually not doing anything in terms of amplification because the Beolab 8000s are fed through an earphone jack on the NAD 3020E. there is no other way to output the sound from the amplifier to the speakers and still have tone and volume control.

This means, I am importing background noise from the amplifier into the system for no benefit. My thinking is that if I get a decent Headphone amp with volume and tone controls, I will get a better, cleaner sound from my set-up. Is this logical? Any recommendations for a headphone amplifier? I have been looking at the Cambridge Audio Duo Phono Headphone Preamp. Would it do the job?

georgesgiralt
France

Re: Please help ...

Post by georgesgiralt » 05 Dec 2019 17:48

Hello,
If, like you say, the Beolab are amplified speakers, you just have to buy a decent phono preamp to fed them from the turntable.
It may not cure your hum problem (if it is not the Nad having a problem, but the turntable grounding or the Beolab amplifier inside the speakers) but I bet the Beolab input will be fine with it. Check needs for the beolab and choose the preamplifier according to this need.

fscl
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
United States of America

Post by fscl » 05 Dec 2019 18:04

Check out this topic:

https://forum.beoworld.org/forums/p/23023/190449.aspx