PS Audio Stack?

amplifiers, receivers and loudspeakers
Bob257
United States of America

PS Audio Stack?

Post by Bob257 » 18 Oct 2019 15:11

I'm still very confused as to the direction I want to go for an amp upgrade. I won't be doing anything for at least a year since I've spent way too much this year! I'm running the Focal 1028be speakers, Rega P6 turntable, and a Marantz 6006 CD player. My current amp is a Yamaha a-s801. It's rated 100 watts/channel. My thoughts for the future are: 1) Luxman 505 MK II, 2) a PS Audio M700 stack with the phono preamp, or 3) McIntosh MAC7200. All in increasing price of course. The Luxman is rated 100 watts/channel, the PS Audio is 350watts/channel, and the McIntosh is 200 watts/channel. The prices are: $4900, approx $6500, and $7500 respectively. Any thoughts? Is there another integrated amp I should be considering? The Yamaha sounds okay so could I be going down "rabbit holes"? I'm sorry to bug everyone, but I'm pretty new to this.

rewfew
long player
long player

Re: PS Audio Stack?

Post by rewfew » 18 Oct 2019 16:23

It's like that old Cole Porter song, It's Just One Of Those Things. You got that itch for something new. Is it frivolous or a love that will last. The website Audiogon is full of people selling those frivolous things, moving on to something new. Wished I could tell you. I'm glad now I never had a lot of disposable dough to fling at those things. DIY was my route, but it's not everyone's bag. You'll figure it out, hopefully without just one of those crazy flings. ( As the song goes).

rewfew
long player
long player

Post by rewfew » 21 Oct 2019 17:05

Hey Bob. Just on a wild tangent, you might check out this vintage article from Stereophile on the Crown DC-300 power amplifier.
https://www.stereophile.com/content/cro ... -amplifier. Or this of the Crown D-150A Series II amplifier.
https://www.kenrockwell.com/audio/crown ... ies-ii.htm