Should I recap my Advents?

amplifiers, receivers and loudspeakers
juggerjay1975
United States of America

Should I recap my Advents?

Post by juggerjay1975 » 18 Sep 2019 22:52

Hi all! I just scored a pair of "New Advents" from the '70s. The owner is a gentleman in his nineties who is moving to a small apartment and couldn't take them with him. He had them refoamed in 2007 and they are in GREAT shape. My question to you all is should I get them recapped? Will I notice a difference in sound? I've been using ADSL520s for 10 years and my ears are very accustomed to their sounds. The Advents have much more bass but they seem to lack in the mid-range. They have a crossover switch in the back featuring decreased, normal and extended. They all work.

Do you all think it would be worth it to have them recapped? Any insight would be appreciated! Here's a photo of them.
Attachments
20190916_192940.jpg
(181.54 KiB) Downloaded 157 times

lenjack
long player
long player

Re: Should I recap my Advents?

Post by lenjack » 19 Sep 2019 01:19

I would. Simple enough, and inexpensive. If they are in good shape, they are FABULOUS speakers, if they are the originals. Advent never made anything better.

jdjohn
long player
long player
United States of America

Post by jdjohn » 20 Sep 2019 03:41

+1 On the re-cap. I have never been disappointed on the improvement after upgrading crossover caps. Do some research on the best replacement caps for that model. Poly-film caps will undoubtedly yield the best results, and then it relies on budget.

Adamo0926
United States of America

Post by Adamo0926 » 21 Sep 2019 23:39

What are your thoughts on re-capping the orginal "The Advent Loudspeaker"...which I purchased fairly recently.