Finally getting a dedicated room....some advice seeking

amplifiers, receivers and loudspeakers
Pscm

Finally getting a dedicated room....some advice seeking

Post by Pscm » 04 Sep 2019 03:24

So it would seem my son will stay in college and I approached my wife about building a wall in our finished basement and got a yes. So this means the room I will have will either be 13.5 x 12 ft or 13.5 x 15 ft. It will have 7 ft ceiling height. Not the best room size I know but better than nothing. My initial thoughts were trying the rule of thirds but thought I would get some input.

I had mentioned in a post a couple of years ago that I am going to build it aviation themed being that is what I do for a living. I got invigorated in the fact that we tore down a commercial aircraft for a customer and they were trashing the pilot seats. These babies are sweet. I also got the mounting tracks from the aircraft. They have height adjust, recline, dual lumbar adjust and adjustable armrests. Some new leather and will likely have some really cool listening chairs. I have also been collecting some trinkets along the way to decorate with but am not going to go crazy. The one thing I am after but haven't found the right one yet is a galley to house equipment and records.

Any input is appreciated.

Solist
Slovenia

Re: Finally getting a dedicated room....some advice seeking

Post by Solist » 05 Sep 2019 21:38

You probably know the answer. Position and listen, reposition and listen again. One of the most immersing experiences I have got, was in a listening room under the roof. And not a big room either. So, the ceiling behind the speakers was sloped, and the speakers were positioned at an angle, approx 45 degrees of the long axis of the room. Some smartly positioned cylindrical diffusers/absorbers and the speakers were not there. Literally for the sake of me I could not tell that the speakers were plugged in.