Can I use a small guitar amplifier to amplify a turntable?

amplifiers, receivers and loudspeakers
The Kathmandu Cat

Can I use a small guitar amplifier to amplify a turntable?

Post by The Kathmandu Cat » 07 Feb 2018 05:33

Hello! A complete newbie to the world of turntables and vinyls. I have a small Fender guitar tube amplifier (only 5 watts with a 6 inch speaker) called the Champion 600 which I don't use at all.

Will it be possible to use that with a vintage Yamaha turntable that I'm getting soon as a hand it down from my uncle? I'm planning to buy decent bookshelf speakers and want a true analog tube circuitry. If it's possible would I have to do some kind of mods to the small tube amp to deliver more power and oomph or is all this not possible at all?

Spinner45
long player
long player
United States of America

Re: Can I use a small guitar amplifier to amplify a turntabl

Post by Spinner45 » 07 Feb 2018 06:32

Nope.
Guitar amplifiers do not have the needed RIAA equalization needed for turntables.

docdan

Post by docdan » 07 Feb 2018 06:37

mmm it would work "in a pinch" but you would need a preamp for the turntable (depending on the cartridge you used), and hopefully the guitar has a line-in input rather than just pickup inputs. But guitar amps are usually not designed to be flat (from 20-20Khz) but often are intentionally "colored" and band restricted to what guitars can reproduce, along with intentional distortion features. Not to mention it won't be stereo. And 5 watts? will probably distort alot...

So you could get sound out (given proper preamplification, which would also handle the RIAA equalization) but it would unlikely be considered "hi-fi". There are plenty of cheap, true hi-fi tube amps available and would be a better choice.

JoeE SP9
long player
long player
United States of America

Post by JoeE SP9 » 07 Feb 2018 16:53

Spinner45 wrote:Nope.
Guitar amplifiers do not have the needed RIAA equalization needed for turntables.