the home of the turntable

Newbie to high end speakers needs help

amplifiers, receivers and loudspeakers

Newbie to high end speakers needs help

Postby Jason Simpson » 11 Nov 2017 02:05

Hey guys,

Due to my old set of speakers finally quitting out on me I find myself in need of a new set of speakers. I'm relatively new to the world of high end audio so I was hoping that you guys could give me some advice and point me in the right direction.

I've never owned a pair of high end speakers before. My current set up includes a new Rega RP2 & Lehmann Audio Black Cube Phono Stage.

If I had to say I have a budget I'd prefer to keep it under $1000 Canadian but I realize that might be difficult to do. I'm pretty much at a loss here. I listen to quite a lot of classic rock, folk, country, blue grass & occasionally some heavy metal.

I've heard good things about companies like Bowers & Wilkins, JBL & Pardagrim but that's about the extent of my speaker knowledge. I have no idea if I should try to by used or new, what brands to be on the look for & what style of speaker to look for. I'm also guessing I'd have to buy a receiver of some sort to go along with the speakers and I'm at a bit of a loss there as well.

I know it's a lot to ask but any help or recommendations that you guys can offer would be really appreciated. Thanks!
Jason Simpson

Canada

Re: Newbie to high end speakers needs help

Postby tobyKenobi » 11 Nov 2017 09:00

Don't know if you have a friendly local hi-fi shop but when I bought my Castles I auditioned them at home for a few days. What speakers are best for you can depend on your room/listening area.
Rega Planar 3, RB300, Linn K9; Arcam 8SE CD; aged Sony amp; Rega Kytes; Castle Severn IIs
tobyKenobi

United Kingdom

Postby kb007 » 11 Nov 2017 14:26

Biggest question is what amp are you using? What part of the country are you in?