help with Transcriptor Hydraulic Reference turntable

a space odyssey
DonM

help with Transcriptor Hydraulic Reference turntable

Post by DonM » 04 Feb 2016 01:30

Hi all,

Bit of a newbie here looking for some help getting a Transcriptor Hydraulic Reference turntable I recently acquired up and running. My main hang up at the moment is the tonearm's ground wire, which has snapped off from where it was attached under the platter (see image below). First of all, is that where the wire should be running (through the crack around the tonearm's base), and secondly, does it need to be re-soldered to the metal connector (or rewired?), or is there a simpler solution?

Also, am I correct in understanding that the ball bearing used in the main spindle should be 1/4"? The one that was with the turntable when I got it is about 1/8th of an inch, but I'm assuming I shouldn't use it if it's the wrong size.

Thanks in advance for any advice (I'm sure I'll need some more before I'm finished with this thing).
transcriptor.jpg
(295.22 KiB) Downloaded 2495 times

abril
long player
long player
Georgia

Re: help with Transcriptor Hydraulic Reference turntable

Post by abril » 04 Feb 2016 16:39

Hi

First of all 1/4 for the bearing ball sounds right to me,certainly not 1/8.
Secondly the ground wire should be connected on the underside there should be a ground screw on the underside of the main bearing underneath.
Difficult to describe and hope you know what I mean.
Had a Hydraulic Ref for about 25 years.

jeules0

Post by jeules0 » 04 Feb 2016 19:45

Hi
I have two hydraulic reference decks, and yes I believe 1/4" is correct for the ball bearing.
I would just resolder the wire to the tab after cleaning off the rust on the screw terminal so you get a good connection.
Good luck with the restoration!
Chris

DonM

Post by DonM » 12 Feb 2016 20:44