PL-a25 50hz capstan needed

the final frontier
Post Reply
TU-879
junior member
junior member
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Mar 2013 00:16
Location: Japan

PL-a25 50hz capstan needed

Post by TU-879 » 13 Mar 2013 04:05

Hello, everyone.
I'm a newbie here and I'm sorry to be soliciting help in my first post but I've looked everywhere and no one seems to even mention the problem that I'm having.
I bought a neat (functioning) pl-a25 I think it was built around 1970. This unit can be switched to work in a 60hz power set up or a 50hz. Most countries use only 1 of those ie: North America uses 60hz, Most of Europe is on 50hz. I live in Japan where half the country uses 60 and the other half uses 50. Crazy. I have a 60hz capstan. I need a 50hz capstan. Does anyone know where to find such an seemingly insignificant little piece?
If worse comes to worst then I will have to try to cut it down on a lathe, boo...

Alec124c41
vinyl engineer
vinyl engineer
Canada
Posts: 23139
Joined: 28 Oct 2002 03:24
Location: North of Toronto, Canada

Re: PL-a25 50hz capstan needed

Post by Alec124c41 » 13 Mar 2013 04:33

Actually, you would need to make a larger one, 6/5 the diameter.

Cheers,
Alec

TU-879
junior member
junior member
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Mar 2013 00:16
Location: Japan

Re: PL-a25 50hz capstan needed

Post by TU-879 » 13 Mar 2013 05:57

Alec124c41 wrote:Actually, you would need to make a larger one, 6/5 the diameter.

Cheers,
Alec
Let me see if I have this correct. A 50hz capstan has a larger diameter than a 60hz.
Crud, is their anyway to evenly add a little thickness? I read in some other posts about nail varnish or tape.

TU-879
junior member
junior member
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Mar 2013 00:16
Location: Japan

Re: PL-a25 50hz capstan needed

Post by TU-879 » 13 Mar 2013 12:31

Alright another question in regards to replacing my pl-a25 60hz capstan with a 50hz capstan.
Could a Pioneer record player use a 50hz capstan from a different maker?
I have seen some by other makers on the auction sights and web stores but none by Pioneer.

gridleakrick
senior member
senior member
Posts: 343
Joined: 26 Sep 2006 03:26
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: PL-a25 50hz capstan needed

Post by gridleakrick » 14 Mar 2013 01:29

Remove the platter. Under it, you will see a switch labeled 50/60 cycles. Just flip the switch. You don't need another capstan. There is also another switch for voltage--117, 220, etc. volts. As I remember, it has about 5 or 6 settings. It looks like a rotary switch but isn't. It is a plug. Pull it up and off and re-plug it in to the desired voltage setting.
Rick

TU-879
junior member
junior member
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Mar 2013 00:16
Location: Japan

Re: PL-a25 50hz capstan needed

Post by TU-879 » 14 Mar 2013 03:01

gridleakrick wrote:Remove the platter. Under it, you will see a switch labeled 50/60 cycles. Just flip the switch. You don't need another capstan.
Rick, Thanks for the advice. I tried taking the platter off and switching the the 50/60hz switch and put it back on. I was listening to Neil Young but it wasn't his normal whinny voice I was hearing. He was still to slow. So I checked the owners manual again (thanks to whomever posted that here on vinylengine) and it says that the 50/60 switch and the capstans need to match. So unfortunately I'm still stuck because the original owner must of tossed the 50hz capstan long ago.

TU-879
junior member
junior member
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Mar 2013 00:16
Location: Japan

Re: PL-a25 50hz capstan needed

Post by TU-879 » 14 Mar 2013 13:49

Quick Update:
I've been looking everywhere on the internet here in Japan to find a spare capstan - which is a very frustrating ordeal with all the thinking in Japanese to read the websites, it's duable with an aspirin to help the headaches - well, no Spare parts so I decided to pull a MacQuiver. Grabbed some Electricians tape and cut a short piece about 1/2 inch long and tightly wrapped it around the capstan. Tried old Neil Young out on the player and he sounds FINE!! Hopefully, this fix lasts till I can find a proper replacement. Wish me luck.

gridleakrick
senior member
senior member
Posts: 343
Joined: 26 Sep 2006 03:26
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: PL-a25 50hz capstan needed

Post by gridleakrick » 14 Mar 2013 23:48

Sorry for my incorrect advice. I saw that switch on mine and just assumed that took care of it.
Any half way competent machinist could easily make you another capstan. If you could find a hobbyist with a small lathe, that would be even better and cheaper.
Rick

TU-879
junior member
junior member
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Mar 2013 00:16
Location: Japan

Re: PL-a25 50hz capstan needed

Post by TU-879 » 15 Mar 2013 00:53

Don't worry about `incorrect advice` I'm happy to have any to try out - It's all about learning about these old devices. Half the fun (or more) is in the search, trial and error.
My father has a small metals lathe but he is in the middle of moving so I can't ask him to turn a new one for me. I'm pretty sure he could so I guess I should search for the correct size.
You said `I saw the switch on mine` so you have/use a Pioneer pl-a25 too? Do you mind letting me know how often you oil it? And have you ever needed to clean out the insides of the machine?

mattrector
junior member
junior member
Posts: 5
Joined: 24 Oct 2012 21:22

Re: PL-a25 50hz capstan needed

Post by mattrector » 29 Sep 2013 20:58

Interestingly enough I have the opposite problem. I just picked up an A25 from someone that was stationed in Germany back in the day and it has a 50hz capstan and I need the 60hz one. Want to swap???

Lachie_M
Australia
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 Aug 2019 16:38

Re: PL-a25 50hz capstan needed

Post by Lachie_M » 17 Aug 2019 16:55

Hello, I know this is an old post, but I’ll try my luck. I have the opposite problem where I need to make a 60hz capstan for my European model PL-25. I was wondering if someone could give me the diameter of the 33rpm wheel of the 60hz capstan so I can give the dimensions to my guy? Thanks!

Daves96caprice
United States of America
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Sep 2019 22:02

Re: PL-a25 50hz capstan needed

Post by Daves96caprice » 12 Sep 2019 22:07

I have the 50hz capstan if anyone would want to sell their 60hz capstan, I would be interested. Or we could exchange capstans ?!

Post Reply