Old Pioneer PL-S30 that needs RCA’s

the final frontier
Raleighwood007
United States of America

Old Pioneer PL-S30 that needs RCA’s

Post by Raleighwood007 » 24 Feb 2019 21:18

I have an Old Pioneer PL-S30 that needs to be converted to RCA’s. I have very little experience w/Turntables But tons of experience w/ electronics, & Wiring electronics. This unit comes w/ zero outputs for like headphones. It comes w/ a grand total of 3 wires. 2 connection wires & a ground wire. I’m assuming there should be zero issue converting the 2 wires to RCA’s and just keeping the ground wire the way it is but that’s thing I don’t know. I don’t If it’s going to mess up the sound or if I need to do something different with the ground wire. Anybody thoughts or suggestions on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thank you to all of you in advance For your time and effort in helping me with this And I hope everyone is having a wonderful day!

AudioFeline
Australia

Re: Old Pioneer PL-S30 that needs RCA’s

Post by AudioFeline » 24 Feb 2019 22:58

You post is somewhat confusing, as it's standard for turntables to have RCA leads, so there should be nothing to convert. I'm wondering if you are indicating that the RCA leads have been cut off, hence your statement of it coming with "3 wires". I'm wondering if you are new to turntables, as turntables never come with outputs for headphones.

A turntable has a power cord, an earth wire, and two RCA leads. I'm assuming you understand power cords. The earth wire is nothing special, any insulated wire can be used to extend it.