the home of the turntable

LP digital archiving for a newbie

the mix tape forum

LP digital archiving for a newbie

Postby andoru » 12 Sep 2017 23:30

I'm pretty new to LPs and playback devices for them, so please excuse my lack of knowledge and/or silly questions. Also sorry if this is the wrong subforum to ask these questions.
This is more a thread asking you guys for recommendations.

I want to start collecting and digitally archiving LPs and singles that I have and that I'm going to buy in the future, and so I would like to know what sort of audiophile-grade equipment I could buy or look out for that wouldn't break the bank (too much...). I would like to record those at high resolution (192kHz/24bit), but could settle for lower rates too if the budget/hardware doesn't allow.

For a turntable, I would be looking for a direct drive model (so I don't have to faff about with wow and flutter, and disintegrating/loose belts) with S-type tone arm, and probably something from the previous decades. The Technics SL-1200 series of turntables would've been perfect for me as they're quite revered, easy to find parts for them and I really like their designs (sleek with quite a few controls). The only problem is that where I'm from, they're crazy expensive (up to 600€) they don't look like they've been handled properly having a lot of visible wear, and pretty rare. So I would like to hear from you guys if you know of any other good turntable models, if you know any company or individual who sells used/refurbished turntables and could ship to Europe. Speaking of which, I would prefer everything to have europlugs, as I wouldn't want to spend extra cash on adapters.

I would also like to get a decent cartridge that delivers a balanced sound that doesn't sound too tinny, with as little sibilance as possible.