VinylStudio vs. Pure Vinyl for digitizing records ?

the mix tape forum
jmah80

VinylStudio vs. Pure Vinyl for digitizing records ?

Post by jmah80 » 19 Sep 2016 18:15

Hello,

Is there anyone with experience using both of these programs who can give me some guidance as to which is better? Does anyone prefer one over the other? Is Pure Vinyl that much better that it's worth $300?

I just started playing with the demo versions of each. I'm not so concerned about which is easier to use. I'm mostly interested in the features like RIAA equalization, de-click and noise reduction.

Will Pure Vinyl do these things that much better that it's worth the extra money?

Thanks !

rich12

Re: VinylStudio vs. Pure Vinyl for digitizing records ?

Post by rich12 » 19 Sep 2016 23:50

jmah80 wrote: I'm mostly interested in the features like RIAA equalization, de-click and noise reduction.
I've never used Pure Vinyl and was never interested in trying it. I had multiple phono preamps so I had no interest in doing RIAA equalization via software.

For click removal, I highly recommend Click Repair. I'm not aware of anything better for automated use. For non-automated use, I use Adobe Audition.

I own and have used Vinyl Studio for recording, but haven't used the click removal feature because I own Click Repair and Adobe Audition.

Tonybro
long player
long player
Great Britain

Post by Tonybro » 20 Sep 2016 08:36

Why not look at Wave Corrector - does all elements for a lot less - been using it for nearly 20 years.

GaryG45

Post by GaryG45 » 26 Sep 2016 02:06