Rip 'em, then clean 'em?

the mix tape forum
Sunwire
long player
long player
United States of America
Posts: 1941
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 21:54
Location: New York

Re: Rip 'em, then clean 'em?

Post by Sunwire » 29 Jun 2019 00:17

He doesn't mention anything about using EAC and says he can't rip to FLAC, so I think it's a good assumption he's not using EAC.

JoeE SP9
long player
long player
United States of America
Posts: 4950
Joined: 23 Feb 2009 19:20
Location: Phildelphia, Pennsylvania

Re: Rip 'em, then clean 'em?

Post by JoeE SP9 » 29 Jun 2019 00:28

Perhaps we should try to convince him to use EAC regardless of what he converts to. If he can't do FLAC then rip to WAV. They play on any and everything.

Geof777
senior member
senior member
Posts: 326
Joined: 22 Jan 2011 13:28
Location: Surrey/ England

Re: Rip 'em, then clean 'em?

Post by Geof777 » 05 Jul 2019 13:07

Haha It's all so tricky!!
That is not to say my setup and life is ideal though!
So I have 2 Stereo's The Smaller being in one room but has the Turntable on it
The Larger in our back room/main Lounge but only has a DAB reciever and CD player - (plus the speakers of course)
I have a link FROM the bigger to the smaller as the DAB on the smaller packed up.
So the only way to hear my records on the bigger is to have recorded them! No there is no where in there to stick the turntable and its more than my marriage is worth to change it all around!
Its nice to have some of my Records on CD and also on MP3 for in car listening.
CD-RW's do sometimes get old after many re uses - but they are cheap and replaceable.
When recording (real time) its easier to use a CD-RW in case of errors or mistakes - easily corrected
But once completed I copy them to CD-R for permanent storage - using the PC

Geof777
senior member
senior member
Posts: 326
Joined: 22 Jan 2011 13:28
Location: Surrey/ England

Re: Rip 'em, then clean 'em?

Post by Geof777 » 05 Jul 2019 13:09

Sunwire wrote:
29 Jun 2019 00:17
He doesn't mention anything about using EAC and says he can't rip to FLAC, so I think it's a good assumption he's not using EAC.
Sorry I have never heard of EAC - I am somewhat stuck in the past and get frustrated trying to work new technology
Also I imaging I would have to somehow get a connection at Line level to the PC from the Turntable which ain't gonna happen.

JoeE SP9
long player
long player
United States of America
Posts: 4950
Joined: 23 Feb 2009 19:20
Location: Phildelphia, Pennsylvania

Re: Rip 'em, then clean 'em?

Post by JoeE SP9 » 06 Jul 2019 22:59

EAC is not restricted to ripping LP's. It can be used for ripping all input signals. I use it for CD's and LP's.

You can get an ADC (analog to digital converter) for as little as $30 (Behringer UCA-222). It plugs directly into the USB port on your PC. Any line level output from your stereo will do the job.

Try a long lead from the tape out from your receiver/integrated to a UCA-222. Up to 20' should be no problem.