Wire

radio, tape, stands and accessories
scootersage

Wire

Post by scootersage » 13 Apr 2018 13:15

Hi everyone. I am interested to know what others are using and thoughts on wire. Speaker wire, interconnects and such. I am a retired union electrician and have dealt with all kinds over the years. Myself I am using 10awg 250 strand only because I got alot of it on a studio tearout for free. If people ask I say just get a roll of 14 awg. lamp cord. I have a set of bi wire able RTR but think it is just a way to sell more wire or amps under most conditions because you double your wire load and both carry the same signal anyway. What do you think?

Tinkaroo
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
Canada

Re: Wire

Post by Tinkaroo » 13 Apr 2018 13:33

What do I think?

I agree with you, but they seem to be fighting words around here. There seems to be a lot of money to be made on wiring and "interconnects" and if someone was convinced to spend big money on them, then they are going to defend them against all odds! #-o

scootersage

Post by scootersage » 13 Apr 2018 13:58

OOp's I don't want a debate was just curious what is most common with some of the people on here.

cats squirrel
long player
long player
Great Britain

Post by cats squirrel » 13 Apr 2018 14:47

decent quality cable, and decent quality plugs and sockets. Esoteric is not a word I would use, usually! :D

LD100
United States of America

Post by LD100 » 15 Apr 2018 09:57

Sufficient gauge for the current load and length between amp and speaker, connectors that make solid and stable contact.

Personally, I use 10 gauge copper speaker wire because I use active bi-amped electrostatic speakers.

vinylrayk

Post by vinylrayk » 15 Apr 2018 15:52