the home of the turntable

Pro-Ject Debut III - problems with skipping

carboniferous

Pro-Ject Debut III - problems with skipping

Postby Painkiller » 12 Aug 2017 19:24

Hello

I have a Pro-Ject Debut III that I bought new on offer last year, as I wanted to get into listening to vinyl. It is an older model - not a Carbon. It came with an Ortofon OM10 pickup. I am unsure as to what the actual model name of the turntable is. The dealer that I bought it from called it: "Project Debut III TF OM10 Ltd." See the following picture to see what it says on the box:

I am a complete novice when it comes to turntables, so forgive me if my question is an ignorant one - when it comes to turntables I am practically completely ignorant. So please, when reading this, keep in mind that I know absolutely nothing about turntables. This is my first one. The issue I'm having is the following:

I haven't played THAT many different records so far, but I have played a fair amount, and had the following results:

New records (meaning never played before - bought new) usually play flawlessly to my ears. But I also have a vast collection of used records, and I am having problems with some of them skipping pretty badly, even though the records look mint optically. I've read that the OM10 is poor at tracking, could this be the issue? There is no consistent pattern to the skipping - some records will skip on the first tracks, others will play a couple of tracks flawlessly and with great sound, only to skip like crazy on the last track(s)of that particular side. And some records just skip at various points.

Is there an easy way to check whether my turntable is set up wrong, whether it's just the OM10 that is poor at tracking, or whether it's the records that need cleaning or something?