Sounds Better in Mono

name that tune
jdjohn
long player
long player
United States of America

Sounds Better in Mono

Post by jdjohn » 16 Mar 2019 04:34

What vinyl do you have that sounds better in mono...with a proper mono cartridge???
I'll start with this Animals record.
AnimalsBestOf.jpg
(86.88 KiB) Downloaded 152 times
Played with an AT-Mono3/LP high-ish output moving coil cartridge.

jdjohn
long player
long player
United States of America

Re: Sounds Better in Mono

Post by jdjohn » 16 Mar 2019 04:41

Adding this:
MWFS.jpg
(98.17 KiB) Downloaded 149 times

Sunwire
long player
long player
United States of America

Post by Sunwire » 16 Mar 2019 05:16

Have you heard Muddy Waters Folk Singer in stereo?
It's really great.
I haven't heard the mono, but it sounds so good in stereo it's hard for me to believe the mono could be better.
It has a great feeling of space and separation of the instruments.
I'm new to the album, but it quickly became one of my favorite recordings because of the great stereo sound.

vinyl master
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
United States of America

Post by vinyl master » 16 Mar 2019 08:50

You know what's great in mono? We recently mentioned the passing of drummer Hal Blaine...Well, he played on those Simon & Garfunkel hits and the 45' versions definitely sound better in mono, but that could just be my view...With many of the 60's hits, though, the mono versions are preferable to the stereo, at least IMHO...

davidsss
long player
long player
Australia

Post by davidsss » 16 Mar 2019 13:46

I don't have a mono cart but the Doors debut album is so much more alive in mono. The stereo is great, but the mono is astounding.

DS

Bob Dillon
United States of America

Post by Bob Dillon » 16 Mar 2019 19:21

Sunwire wrote:
16 Mar 2019 05:16
Have you heard Muddy Waters Folk Singer in stereo?
It's really great.
I haven't heard the mono, but it sounds so good in stereo it's hard for me to believe the mono could be better.