the home of the turntable

Pitch control of my 1009 doesn't reach the desired speed

twice the fun

Pitch control of my 1009 doesn't reach the desired speed

Postby jasperv » 04 Oct 2017 01:00

Dear all,

I wonder if this is a familiar problem. When i have my pitch control indicator in the middle position, my tt plays the records way too slow. When I put the pitch control on its highest position it almost plays my records on an accurate speed. Any ideas if this could be adjusted so that it plays my records accurately while the pitch control indicator is positioned somewhat in the middle? I'm thinking that the cause of the slower speed might indicate that the motor needs lubrication / maintenance. Any ideas experiences?

thanx!

Jasper
jasperv

Poland

Re: Pitch control of my 1009 doesn't reach the desired spee

Postby plexi » 05 Oct 2017 10:55

I am new to duals but from tinkering with mine, I think you can put a washer under idler wheel and this will adjust the starting speed and this would help you get it more in line so that when fine control is in middle it will be more 33 rpm...in your situation, being too slow, i think that means the idler wheel is hitting too low (on the fatter section of the idler spindle) so you would need a thin washer or two placed under the idler wheel so that it raises up a bit towards the thinner end of the taper. To get at the idler wheel bottom, carefully pry up the tiny clear cream colored washer atop the wheel and the wheel pops off...I could be way off on this so best wait for more confirmation but that is what i would try. but then again many things i try end up broken so .......
Garard 401 stanton881s rega rb303, Thorens125/Acos Lustre grado G, AR XA rega 200 ShureV15III MR, Lenco l70 rega rb202 Stanton881s, LCR loungeMM preamp
plexi

Canada

Postby Hugues TR4 » 05 Oct 2017 15:49

The right adjustment can be made just by loosening the little screw on the side of the pulley and adjust the pulley height on the motor axle.