I restored an AW2 stacker spindle

twice the fun
Post Reply
import silvia
Posts: 1
Joined: 18 May 2013 00:38

I restored an AW2 stacker spindle

Post by import silvia » 31 Mar 2014 20:59

I got a 1009F a while ago and recently got a 1015 for restoration. I've got both units working well, but the auto stacking spindles have long ago lost their rubber pads. I found a SCQ6.5 belt at an electronics store and thought it would work.

Here are the pics of the repair processhttp://imgur.com/a/nZYAD

And here's a video of the final product in actions. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r1DiW_e ... e=youtu.be

Heyitsmeallen
member
member
Posts: 167
Joined: 21 Dec 2013 03:25
Location: Nags head, nc

Re: I restored an AW2 stacker spindle

Post by Heyitsmeallen » 01 Apr 2014 03:01

Nice video! I recently got a technics sl-b5 that has a changer function. Needs a new belt and should work. I'm not quite sure how to run the changer though

systemBuilder
junior member
junior member
Posts: 8
Joined: 23 Mar 2016 04:09

Re: I restored an AW2 stacker spindle

Post by systemBuilder » 29 Mar 2016 06:18

On your page about fixing a dual 1019 stacking spindle, you forgot to tell us how thick the square belt needs to be, 2mm? 1.8mm? what? sq6.5 just means the belt is 6.5 inches long but it doesn't tell us the thickness.

pwreimers
member
member
Posts: 83
Joined: 14 Feb 2011 19:27
Location: Salt Lake City

Re: I restored an AW2 stacker spindle

Post by pwreimers » 06 May 2016 21:20

systemBuilder wrote:On your page about fixing a dual 1019 stacking spindle, you forgot to tell us how thick the square belt needs to be, 2mm? 1.8mm? what? sq6.5 just means the belt is 6.5 inches long but it doesn't tell us the thickness.
An SCQ6.5 is .063" x .063" in cross section.

systemBuilder
junior member
junior member
Posts: 8
Joined: 23 Mar 2016 04:09

Re: I restored an AW2 stacker spindle

Post by systemBuilder » 07 May 2016 00:34

I see, so it's 1.6mm x 1.6mm, thank you !

circularvibes
long player
long player
Posts: 1234
Joined: 24 Sep 2010 02:09
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Re: I restored an AW2 stacker spindle

Post by circularvibes » 07 May 2016 02:40

Thank you for your how to pics and video. I have two to restore this summer. This looks easy enough to do.

pwreimers
member
member
Posts: 83
Joined: 14 Feb 2011 19:27
Location: Salt Lake City

Re: I restored an AW2 stacker spindle

Post by pwreimers » 10 May 2016 22:29

This worked quite well for me. It's much easier to remove the brass piece to clean and install the new pads.

pwreimers
member
member
Posts: 83
Joined: 14 Feb 2011 19:27
Location: Salt Lake City

Re: I restored an AW2 stacker spindle

Post by pwreimers » 30 May 2017 00:39

systemBuilder wrote:I see, so it's 1.6mm x 1.6mm, thank you !
A follow-up: restoring the stacking spindle using the .063" (1.6 mm) sq belt did not perform satisfactorily. Many times, the spindle would drop two records, not one. If I cleaned it thoroughly and retried, it would work for a bit, then begin dropping two records again.

Thinking the rubber was not quite thick enough, I purchased several square belts and tried the .069" (1.75 mm) SCA10.0 (I believe aka: 1425-67). I tried this one first because it is very close to being exactly 1.75 mm. Germany's been metric for many years! And, it's fairly easy to try different rubber pads.

Getting the brass piece with the pads into the spindle tube top is a bit tight, but can be done; I've done it twice now. It was necessary to put the slider/expander piece in the tube first, then put in the brass piece with the rubber pads. I would not recommend trying to glue the rubber pads onto the brass 'fingers' with the spindle assembly intact. Getting the assembly apart is not bad, and makes getting contact cement on the right places 'easy.'

So, that's my experience. I hope others may benefit.

As usual,
Pete

spensar
senior member
senior member
Canada
Posts: 656
Joined: 04 May 2014 02:40

Re: I restored an AW2 stacker spindle

Post by spensar » 30 May 2017 03:14

Appreciate the follow-up. How is 1.75mm belt working now?

pwreimers
member
member
Posts: 83
Joined: 14 Feb 2011 19:27
Location: Salt Lake City

Re: I restored an AW2 stacker spindle

Post by pwreimers » 30 May 2017 06:04

spensar wrote:Appreciate the follow-up. How is 1.75mm belt working now?
I've had it running for about four weeks now, both with 'heavy' records (Longines Symphony, Reader's Digest collections) and light records (more recently made, standard thin late sixties and so on). So far, the performance is much improved. Once, a record did not drop; further investigation showed a burr on the record hole and after removing that burr the record drops fine.

This is still early in the test phase, as I'd be most comfortable recommending the fix after several hundred cycles. I'm not at that point yet. But, seeing as the original .063" sq belt was not right and the .069" is much improved, I thought it best to update the fix since I had poor initial results and much better ones with the thicker belt.

Pete

pwreimers
member
member
Posts: 83
Joined: 14 Feb 2011 19:27
Location: Salt Lake City

Re: I restored an AW2 stacker spindle

Post by pwreimers » 06 Jun 2017 18:13

I remembered the three Roy Rogers (of the Delta Rhythm Kings!) that had trouble, dropping two records instead of one. And, because I have two spindles and only one which has the 1.75 mm pads, I put the records on the 1.6 mm pad spindle and confirmed that two records drop. Then I put them on the spindle with 1.75 mm pads; it dropped one record at a time.

I am encouraged this is may be the correct pad thickness.

My prior post, that I've done this twice, is incorrect. I only changed one of the spindles from 1.6 mm to 1.75 pad thickness.

As usual,
Pete

gridleakrick
senior member
senior member
Posts: 341
Joined: 26 Sep 2006 03:26
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: I restored an AW2 stacker spindle

Post by gridleakrick » 14 Jun 2017 09:08

I have repaired a number of these spindles and have found the perfect rubber to use is cut from a vacuum cleaner belt (purchased at a thrift store for 50 cents). One belt has enough rubber to fix many spindles. The thickness is just right. I glue the rubber pieces in place without disassembly of the spindle using gel super glue. Both the rubber and the brass pieces must be scrupulously clean. I use isopropyl alcohol and Q-Tips. I haven't had one fail yet.
Rick

Rani1369
Canada
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 Jul 2019 20:25

Re: I restored an AW2 stacker spindle

Post by Rani1369 » 21 Jul 2019 14:35

pwreimers wrote:
10 May 2016 22:29
This worked quite well for me. It's much easier to remove the brass piece to clean and install the new pads.
Hi just reading this old post and was wondering if you have photos or could explain how that comes apart.

Regards

spensar
senior member
senior member
Canada
Posts: 656
Joined: 04 May 2014 02:40

Re: I restored an AW2 stacker spindle

Post by spensar » 23 Jul 2019 06:11

Or any other success is repairing the AW2.

Post Reply