Need help with Heirloom Dual 1219 - No sound, No Automatic

twice the fun
JeffMiller
United States of America

Need help with Heirloom Dual 1219 - No sound, No Automatic

Post by JeffMiller » 10 Dec 2019 01:36

My dad was the original owner of this dual 1219 that I'm working on.
I've watched countless videos, read numerous threads and downloaded the Amature Service Manual as well as the official service manual....I'm at a standstill...

Please forgive the lingo as I'm still learning the language of vintage turntables.

Completed / Seemingly Functioning items:
1. Speed Control - dissembled and reassembled - was non-functioning - works smoothly now.
2. Misc. Grease / Gummed up areas - cleaned and re-lubricated - things seem to move as they should.
3. Record size selector - seems functional.
4. Continuity - appears to have continuity from the pickups in the head-shell to the end of new RCA Cables.
5. Automatic Mute Switch - appears to be open and since continuity checks out I think it's good.
6. Cartridge and Stylus appear to be in good condition - appear to seat as it should.
7. Motor and Idler Wheel appear to work correctly and quietly in manual mode (see below).

Problems:
1. When I use the start lever the motor only runs while I have the lever pressed to the start position. If I let go - it stops.
2. When I manually move the arm to the record the motor spins as I think it should but there is no sound. I hear a faint sound coming from what I assume is the needle but nothing from the amp which is a 20 year old Sony amp with a phono input - I tried hooking up the dual to other inputs and no sound from them either.

I've cleaned the various contacts with alcohol - I think I need to try some DeOxit?

Any other suggestions to get this thing playing at least in manual mode?

Is there a way to run the table and check the signal at the output end of the RCA cables to see if there is actually sound there and maybe the tuner is messed up?