Tips on servicing Dul 621

twice the fun
Timfromfmass
United States of America

Tips on servicing Dul 621

Post by Timfromfmass » 11 Jan 2019 00:14

Hi all. I got a 621 a couple of months ago and have been enjoying it quite a bit. It’s in great cosmetic shape. The speed is consistent I just had to adjust the shift a bit to get the timing right. The auto start doesn’t work, which has been fine with me, but now it doesn’t sense when the record is done. What it used to do was sense when it was at and end and then lift but not return the tone arm. I’m new to turntables but not to electronics and I’m reasonably handy. I’ve doenloded the service manual but figured I would ask some questions here to before I get started.

I know to get the auto start to work I need to replace the steuerpimpel, will this also fix the issue I’m having when the record is done playing or is that something else? Does anyone have a good reliable preferred source for a steuerpimpel shipping to the US?

That is the main reason I want to open this guy up, but I’ll probbaly grease the points listed in the service manual as well. Is there anything else you experienced dual owners would recommend I look at while in there? Things that commonly go wrong down the road or that may be not functioning correctly without my even knowing it?

Lastly how hard is it to replace the rca cables supplied. I’m not one that believes in high end cables, but I would just like to get something newer that has cleaner connectors unless this is a major PITA task

Thanks in advance for the Help

mrow2
long player
long player
United States of America

Re: Tips on servicing Dul 621

Post by mrow2 » 11 Jan 2019 07:44