How Loud Do YOU Play Your Music?

anything and nothing
ammarmariti
Malaysia

How Loud Do YOU Play Your Music?

Post by ammarmariti » 16 Oct 2017 07:52

I consider myself a beginner, I got my first turntable 4 years ago and had began collecting my stereo component until today. Being a beginner I don't have much friends who came over for a little chill and some audition, as well as going to their places. Before stereos I dabbled with headphones because they were adequate at the time.

My first 'real' eye opener stereo setup was in a hifi store. It was playing a blues or jazz record with a female singer. (Can't remember how many times I've parroted this story because its just that much exciting for me) The moment I stepped into the store, the setup mesmerized me because it sounded real and ethereal. The singer as far as I was concerned, was transported there into the space between the speakers. It was surreal how real it was. And the store had set the volume to a regular human singing voice that added that much to the realism of the whole thing. From that moment on I was like a heroin addict trying to chase that same high.

And I don't blast my music at all. I never do. It's just, to me, not something that brings enjoyment to me. I can't imagine the singer singing that loud in person. Any illusion of their presence in the listening room collapses. The loud volume will be a constant reminder that you're listening to a stereo representation. So I just never blast my volume.

These past few months there had been about 2-3 sessions where I had friends coming over to test my setup. I've just completed a power amplifier build and wanted to get some opinions on how it sounds.