RB300 question

on level ground
Post Reply
elreza
member
member
Great Britain
Posts: 83
Joined: 01 Aug 2013 19:38

RB300 question

Post by elreza » 24 Sep 2019 08:20

Hi pulled this off a planar 3 , all working fine no hum but it has what to me looks likes like an earth lead thats been cut short ?
It doesnt look like its been rewired and if it had surely the person would have used better cables , they seem to be the same as all standard rega cables ? the rca's seem very slightly different though ?
Did rega ever make a rb300 with an earth lead ?


https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/487 ... a1f6_c.jpg

https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/487 ... 1f0c_c.jpg

DeepEnd
long player
long player
Great Britain
Posts: 1241
Joined: 19 Dec 2014 10:21
Location: Lancashire

Re: RB300 question

Post by DeepEnd » 24 Sep 2019 10:03

I think that has been re-wired at some point. The leads/phono’s look different to my (1987) arm.

The good news is that putting a joint in the Earth cable to extend it is unlikely to affect the performance (unlike splicing the signal cables).

If you have a multimeter it should be possible to check if the earths have been separated (no connection between either outer of the RCA’s and the short earth lead but a very low resistance between the earth lead and the counterweight stub.

If no meter then there is an Allen key that holds the plug into the base of the arm.

Warning there is only a little spare cable.

By pulling the plug out the plug and looking at the connections you should be able to work it out.

The standard Rega connections are for the black wire (arm tube earth), the blue (left signal return) and the copper strip (arm base earthing) to be connected together.
68CE0118-B1AB-449A-A93D-E5E02D0AFAE8.gif
(12.61 KiB) Downloaded 98 times
On a modified wiring scheme the blue should be separate to the black/strip/external earth wire.

elreza
member
member
Great Britain
Posts: 83
Joined: 01 Aug 2013 19:38

Re: RB300 question

Post by elreza » 24 Sep 2019 10:23

thanks I didnt think it was standard , shame ts been cut short not that it seems to be needed on the rega

Mr Pig
senior member
senior member
Scotland
Posts: 384
Joined: 13 Feb 2018 23:17

Re: RB300 question

Post by Mr Pig » 06 Oct 2019 20:08

I've never seen an earth cable on a Rega arm but I have seen those plugs on one. Bit strange.

Anyway, I wouldn't add a separate earth cable to a Rega arm. There be dragons! The standard configuration works fine so why mess with it? I've had Rega arms rewired with an earth wire and they're a pain. Or at least they can be. Don't go there.

Post Reply