Planar 1 and a "Q-up"

on level ground
FantasticMrFox81
Great Britain

Planar 1 and a "Q-up"

Post by FantasticMrFox81 » 17 Sep 2019 18:24

Good evening one and all,

Does anybody have any experience of the "Q-up" with a rega planar 1?

In the UK they seem to retail for around £45. Is this a good price?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Kind regards,

MrFox

Lion89
England

Re: Planar 1 and a "Q-up"

Post by Lion89 » 19 Sep 2019 20:32

Hello, Welcome. I have no experience of this, but after having a brief look, I just can’t see any justification for spending 45 pence on this, let alone £45!

Sorry

Respect

🦁

vanakaru

Post by vanakaru » 19 Sep 2019 21:22

I have two of Q-ups on different TTs. While these do not have sexy look as it has been said above, they do work surprisingly well. OK, I got them for 18EUR a' piece some time ago but still I see no justification for spending 100 or more on so to speak vanity device.
However for me this kind of device is highly valuable. I do not listen music laying down on a sofa but doing something usually. And hate to get up and lift the arm when it is not convenient for me. So it is a good solution to have auto-lift without clunky mechanics that possibly adds some noise.
The only thing to note is that this device will not work on all TT's. You need room between the arm-rest and the plate to mount it and you need to have enough distance between the plate and the arm 'cos Q-up can go only that low. For instance it will not fit on Pioneer PL12D - there is not enough clearance from plate to arm.

FantasticMrFox81
Great Britain

Post by FantasticMrFox81 » 20 Sep 2019 19:40

Lion89 wrote:
19 Sep 2019 20:32
Hello, Welcome. I have no experience of this, but after having a brief look, I just can’t see any justification for spending 45 pence on this, let alone £45!

Sorry

Respect

🦁
Evening Lion89,