Using NeoPSU

on level ground
Post Reply
brave
member
member
Sweden
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 May 2018 18:16

Using NeoPSU

Post by brave » 11 Jan 2019 17:45

Hi

I have a NeoPSU connected to a RP3. What is the correct way of turning the platter on and off? Is it by having the Neo continuously turned on and using the switch button on the plinth or is it by having the switch button on the plinth in the position ON and using the switch button on the Neo?
Thanks in advance!

andybeau
long player
long player
England
Posts: 3781
Joined: 06 Jun 2013 20:47
Location: Coventry, UK

Re: Using NeoPSU

Post by andybeau » 11 Jan 2019 18:02

Using the old ttpsu I always had the switch on the tt to on and used ttpsu to turn on and off. On my RP8 it has no switch so only on/off is by ttpsu.

dysmike
senior member
senior member
Germany
Posts: 406
Joined: 21 Jul 2018 01:20

Re: Using NeoPSU

Post by dysmike » 11 Jan 2019 18:43

andybeau wrote:
11 Jan 2019 18:02
Using the old ttpsu I always had the switch on the tt to on and used ttpsu to turn on and off. On my RP8 it has no switch so only on/off is by ttpsu.
That's what I do.

DT999
senior member
senior member
Australia
Posts: 388
Joined: 18 May 2016 11:17

Re: Using NeoPSU

Post by DT999 » 11 Jan 2019 21:08

That's what I do as well.

brave
member
member
Sweden
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 May 2018 18:16

Re: Using NeoPSU

Post by brave » 11 Jan 2019 21:42

dysmike wrote:
11 Jan 2019 18:43
andybeau wrote:
11 Jan 2019 18:02
Using the old ttpsu I always had the switch on the tt to on and used ttpsu to turn on and off. On my RP8 it has no switch so only on/off is by ttpsu.
That's what I do.
DT999 wrote:
11 Jan 2019 21:08
That's what I do as well.
andybeau wrote:
11 Jan 2019 18:02
Using the old ttpsu I always had the switch on the tt to on and used ttpsu to turn on and off. On my RP8 it has no switch so only on/off is by ttpsu.
Thanks all. I wonder if there are any disadvantages with doing it the other way? Any risks for damaging the motor or the psu?
Last edited by brave on 11 Jan 2019 22:22, edited 1 time in total.

dysmike
senior member
senior member
Germany
Posts: 406
Joined: 21 Jul 2018 01:20

Re: Using NeoPSU

Post by dysmike » 11 Jan 2019 21:47

Shouldn't be, a switch just closes the circuit, and the switch on the table is just a simple single pole, single throw switch.

atomlow
senior member
senior member
Posts: 395
Joined: 27 Mar 2011 21:31
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Re: Using NeoPSU

Post by atomlow » 12 Jan 2019 03:37

I'd say what's easier for you. For me it's the turntable switch. p3-24 =D>

brave
member
member
Sweden
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 May 2018 18:16

Re: Using NeoPSU

Post by brave » 12 Jan 2019 21:07

atomlow wrote:
12 Jan 2019 03:37
I'd say what's easier for you. For me it's the turntable switch. p3-24 =D>
Thanks! I will continue do it that way too. :D

GrumpyBob
member
member
Posts: 82
Joined: 06 Oct 2017 08:24

Re: Using NeoPSU

Post by GrumpyBob » 13 Jan 2019 06:12

atomlow wrote:
12 Jan 2019 03:37
I'd say what's easier for you. For me it's the turntable switch. p3-24 =D>
I use the turntable switch while using the turntable. This is a fairly elderly Planar 3 (maybe 23 years old) with new 24V motor and a few other upgrades/replacements.
I switch off the NeoPSU when listening to other media, mostly streaming digital from my digital music collection via a Logitech Squeezebox player.

Robert

Post Reply