the home of the turntable

American Planar 3 in Eurasia

on level ground

American Planar 3 in Eurasia

Postby akatosh86 » 16 Aug 2018 04:45

Hello everyone,a complete newbie here
Recently, I've ordered a 2016 Planar 3 from an american retailer and it arrived couple of days ago. I happen to live in Georgia (the country, not the US state)
Being ignorant in all things electronic and especially the usual voltage/frequency differences, I happily plugged my coveted turntable into a 220v socket and, as you can imagine, it didn't last long
Now, the electrician has my PS2 unit and tells me he'll fix and rewire the wall wart for 220v. he also tells me that hopefully, it's only the adapter that got fried up and not the tt motor. at least, it didn't smell and there was no smoke other than the tt just not working after couple of seconds from turning on

so, couple of questions and I'd appreciate if you Help me:
1) what shall I do with the America spec turntable to make it run on 220v/50hz? Do I need a TTPSU? Will a re-wired 220v input adapter suffice? or a new pulley?
2) when the technician dude re-wires the adapter from 110v to 220v, shall I risk plugging it in?
3) In case of the worst case scenario: the complete destruction of this deck - what shall be my modus operandi? a motor upgrade kit?

what makes things worse is that there are no certified rega technicians in this country and an unsanctioned 'autopsy' of the deck will invalidate it's lifetime warranty or whatever benefits there are, but I guess it doesn't matter if your deck is dead already and when you live in a country too far away to effectively benefit from any benefits (forgive the tautology)

anyway, tips appreciated
akatosh86

Georgia

Re: American Planar 3 in Eurasia

Postby dimucci » 16 Aug 2018 11:19

Perhaps your best bet would be to contact Rega UK direct:
service@rega.co.uk ?
dimucci

Wales

Postby Phono-lover » 16 Aug 2018 18:36

You may need to replace the motor so this may be of interest.