the home of the turntable

Help with static problem

on level ground

Help with static problem

Postby sunderwood » 16 Dec 2017 05:15

I have been using a Boston carbon graphite mat for seven years. Lately I have been having a serious static issue. I hear a crackling noise when I lift the record off the platter after playing it and am getting a pop when my finger touches the platter. I am also occasionally hearing static pops through the speakers while listening to a record. I know it is winter now and static is more prevalent, but I have never had it to this degree before. I decided to take off the boston mat and exchange it for a cork mat that I got extra with my vpi 16.5. That completely eliminated the problem. I would leave it like that, but the cork mat doesn't come all the way out to the edge of the platter and needs to be thicker than what it is. it is about half the thickness of the boston mat which is 3mm. Why I am all of a sudden getting this after seven years is a mystery to me unless the material in the mat has changed somewhat if that is possible. I paid $200 for it and I hate not to use it, but if it is going to cause this kind of issue I'll have to put it to the side. Can you guys give me some suggestions for some good non static prone mats to take its place?
sunderwood

United States of America

Re: Help with static problem

Postby H. callahan » 16 Dec 2017 08:00

That´s strange as i have a cork mat but do have static problems, sometimes its so bad the mat will stick to the record.

Maybe the grounding of your tt became bad, which could explain why you´re now having static issues with the Boston mat.

If the cork mat is about half the thickness of the Boston, why not use two cork mats (as long as they´re big enough for your plattern, there are some having different diameters)?

Havn´t tried it myself, but maybe this can Help you:

http://www.tnt-audio.com/clinica/stat_trap_e.html
H. callahan

Germany

Postby Alec124c41 » 16 Dec 2017 15:06