Replacing Needle on Garrard 3500 LP Player...

the jewel in the crown
oldrecords_bl
United States of America

Replacing Needle on Garrard 3500 LP Player...

Post by oldrecords_bl » 30 Dec 2019 19:34

Howdy y'all! Just recently bought a Garrard 3500 model LP player second hand earlier this year (it's attached to one of those long heavy speaker/cabinet systems) and the needle broke. I'm trying to find any sort of tutorial or instructions on how to replace it and where I might get a replacement needle? Picture of turntable section below.
20191230_114215.jpg
(82.77 KiB) Downloaded 87 times
Biggest initial stumbling block is there doesn't even seem to be any easy way to lift the needle arm up higher so I can worth underneath it? Total newbie to the retro LP record player space, so any help is appreciated.
thanks!
Chad

DSJR
long player
long player
Wales

Re: Replacing Needle on Garrard 3500 LP Player...

Post by DSJR » 31 Dec 2019 10:54

Hi Chad,

Are there any labels on the pickup head itself? This is a total long shot, but the flip-under tab on the pickup indicates the cartridge may just be a Garrard KS40A/41b/41C(Sonotone 3509/3559) type - but PLEASE don't hold me to that. if it is, it's one of the better ceramic cartridges around and 'double diamond' styli are readily available for these.

More pics would be great please -

I've never seen a 3500 in that colour scheme before - in the UK we usually had the plain black version. It's worth studying the servicing threads on this Autoslim derived chassis' too of which the 3500 is part and in the library here, there's a good service guide on this model (the arm can't be lifted high as designed).

oldrecords_bl
United States of America

Post by oldrecords_bl » 31 Dec 2019 19:50