Garrard AT6 needle help

the jewel in the crown
ErikJordan
Canada

Garrard AT6 needle help

Post by ErikJordan » 04 Oct 2019 19:48

I am a super newbie, recently purchased an Admiral low stereo cabinet with a Garrard at6 installed inside.
I took the Garrard out, cleaned it and lubed it back up, still needs some work but she runs.

My goal is to restore it back up to be able to play new LPs.
I also want to wire in Bluetooth but that’s another project for another day.

My question is: does anyone knowledgeable know what needle I should replace on the turntable that won’t hurt my new records?

I’ve done some research and I believe I have an M7 on mine? I’ll add pics.

Any help is super appreciated! Thank you in advance.
Attachments
image.jpg
(223.26 KiB) Downloaded 62 times
image.jpg
(292.91 KiB) Downloaded 61 times
image.jpg
(190.39 KiB) Downloaded 60 times

circularvibes
long player
long player

Re: Garrard AT6 needle help

Post by circularvibes » 04 Oct 2019 21:44

That has an Astatic n41sd stylus. It is widely available on ePay or by contacting https://www.canadianastatic.com for a replacement. It might also be found at your local TV/Stereo repair shop if the person has been in business for a couple decades. It will sound okay if it is in working order. It is a ceramic cartridge and I do not recommend using it on modern records. If it is in a console, you are stuck with ceramics. You could add a magnetic preamp inside but I don't think it is worthwhile soundwise and you would have to use a low compliance cartridge like a Stanton 500 or an early Shue M3D.

ErikJordan
Canada

Post by ErikJordan » 04 Oct 2019 23:08

So fixing up and getting this Garrard back to newer working order for my goal isn’t possible then and if I did the sound wouldn’t be good?

Apologies for being a newbie, why would the sound of new records be bad? Are they made that much different now?
Again apologies, any information is good knowledge for me.

circularvibes
long player
long player