the home of the turntable

How to look for wear?

the thin end of the wedge

How to look for wear?

Postby klimal » 10 Sep 2017 09:13

I have an old Ortofon Kontrapunkt b which was a gift.
I have been playing it now for several months now and sounds fine, tho' the mids can sound hard occasionally.
What view would be useful for this purpose ie looking for wear?
Attachments
6.JPG
6.JPG (28.12 KiB) Viewed 261 times
4.jpg
4.jpg (52.44 KiB) Viewed 261 times
2.jpg
2.jpg (30.31 KiB) Viewed 261 times
1.jpg
1.jpg (28.88 KiB) Viewed 261 times
SLAT L75/SME3009 S2 Imp/Ortofon Kontrapunkt b, AHT Non-Signature preamp, Creek Destiny 2, BAT VK60, Epos Elan 35. Straightwire interconnect Cresendo & Symphony speaker cable, Straightwire tonearm phono cable,
klimal

Malaysia

Re: How to look for wear?

Postby Vinylfreak86 » 10 Sep 2017 09:25

I don`t look for wear, I just smash a stylus away after one year of regular use. Better this than wear on records.

If you got old cartridge, replacement of a stylus is your first homework. Never use an old stylus.
Vinylfreak86

Slovenia

Postby Delta667 » 10 Sep 2017 10:12

So under a microscope looks like a worn stylus.
This stylus requires replacement, but it can still be used without damage to damage vinyl.
More damage to vinyl is done by a new cheap stylus with a poorly treated surface. Such stylus on the continuation of 40 - 50 hours perform the role of sandpaper ))
Photo in the subject. Today I did an examination of the stylus and recommended its replacement.
Delta667
long player
long player

Russia

Postby analogaudio » 10 Sep 2017 19:10

Wear is tricky to see. When the history of the stylus is unknown it is wise to replace the stylus rather than risk damaging the discs.

In another thread Ray Parkhurst has started showing pictures he has made using focus-stacking and very careful lighting, some of these enable wear to be seen, the thread is here viewtopic.php?f=19&t=92996