the home of the turntable

Ortofon OM5E & Rega RP1 help

the thin end of the wedge

Ortofon OM5E & Rega RP1 help

Postby spg1986 » 28 Apr 2017 21:31

Hello All

First post here so please pardon me if it's in the wrong board etc.

I've had my Rega RP1 for approx 10 months or so, and whilst I know this is totally entry level, it's my first "decent" turntable and obviously came with the standard cartridge. Long story short, I managed to break the stylus one night and had it repaired and the entire cartridge replaced with an Ortofon OM5E. The idea being it was an upgrade of sorts.

After it was "repaired" the back end of the cartridge was really low to the record when playing, to the point where it was knocking the vinyl as it played. I'm relatively new to all this, but I'd assumed that the weight was set too heavy on the arm. I've since adjusted this which fixed this particular problem BUT what I have noticed is in comparison to the factory standard (Audio Technica?) cartridge the new OM5E picks up an awful lot of surface noise - static/crackle/occasional pops and so forth - MUCH, MUCH more than the old one.

I've purchased a Shure gauge and I've got it set at 1.5, which I'm aware is the lightest end of the scale, if it's towards 2.0 I encounter the cartridge knocking problem as above.

From what I can see against the protractor the cart is aligned correctly also.

Is there anything that could be causing such surface noise? It's not absolutely awful but is distracting to the point of limiting the listening experience and is happening on both brand new and old records.

Any help would be appreciated - it's doing my nut in!

Cheers,

Stuart
spg1986

United Kingdom

Re: Ortofon OM5E & Rega RP1 help

Postby akem » 29 Apr 2017 16:26

The OM5 has a kind of normal height of about 18mm whereas the Rega Tonearms are prepared for a cartridge height of only 14mm. So you will have to buy a 4mm spacer to install it on the tonearm base. This is a well known nuisance of the Regas...