the home of the turntable

AT440ML/OCC vs. Denon DL-110 (technics 1200)

the thin end of the wedge

AT440ML/OCC vs. Denon DL-110 (technics 1200)

Postby martinman » 09 Jan 2017 15:25

I had a strange discovery this weekend. I had an older AT440ML/occ laying around that I picked up used. It came mounted to a Sumiko headshell and the price was right so I nabbed it. I finally got around to installing it.

Technics 1200 (KAB Tonearm rewire)
440ml/occ & denon 110 - Both Sumiko headshell (Baerwald setup)
Way Excellent II-4mm Turntable Mat
Lounge Audio LCR MK3
Pioneer Elite
Kef LS50

I've been running the denon for almost all of 2016 with and was impressed with the relatively even presentation. My initial thought is that the denon does alot of things really well coming from (at the time) an AT120ET. After being away form AT for a while - and running the denon for almost a year - I was floored when I installed the 440. I always though reading the reviews that there would be a subtle difference between the 2, but wow was I wrong. I have to quantify this as an upgrade - I was quite surprised at the difference. What I here is much more refined detail, bass tightened up, and highs are more present. I don't think the bass suffered on the 440 much as some of the reviews pointed out. All in all, moving from the 110 to the 440 was a profound difference in rendering ability. I'm going to stick with it a while and then go back to the denon to see if my ears are fooling me. Don't get me wrong, the denon is no slouch and was indeed a big upgrade from the at120. I guess I'm surprised at the differences between 2 equally priced carts (though MC vs MM with vastly different outputs).

Wondering if anyone has a similar experience? Am I missing something with Denon / MC using a MM stage?
martinman

United States of America

Re: AT440ML/OCC vs. Denon DL-110 (technics 1200)

Postby Alec124c41 » 09 Jan 2017 16:02