Sumiko Blue Point Special on Technics Sl-1200

the thin end of the wedge
larphred

Sumiko Blue Point Special on Technics Sl-1200

Post by larphred » 26 Jan 2013 05:57

Newbie here. Just mounted a used Blue point special on my non-modified SL-1200 and it is a bit overly bright. I have no idea which protractor to use to set up the cartridge in the headshell. Has anybody had experience with this setup? I am running through the MC input and was also wondering which capacitance loading would be the most appropriate--or is that merely set by ear?
Thanks for any input.

clearaudiolover

Re: Sumiko Blue Point Special on Technics Sl-1200

Post by clearaudiolover » 26 Jan 2013 10:08

have you tried playing with the arm height adjustment (VTA). The Sumiko needs a little bit of negative VTA.

larphred

Post by larphred » 26 Jan 2013 17:06

I leveled it. Do you mean to drop the arm at the pivot/base?
Thx.

Finger Painter

Post by Finger Painter » 26 Jan 2013 17:38

The Blue Point Specials are high output MC's and hence need to be run through the MM input, loading at 47k Ohms.

You are probably experiencing far too much gain.

larphred

Post by larphred » 26 Jan 2013 19:06

Yeah, I know they are high voltage MCs, but I have a MM cartridge hooked up to the MM input and was hoping the high output MC would work in the MC input. The gain is nowhere near saturated with the Blue Point running through the MC input.

hugo casassanta

Post by hugo casassanta » 26 Jan 2013 20:14

Have you tried feeding it directly on the MM input? Did you hear any tonal differences by doing so?

Devil Doc

Post by Devil Doc » 26 Jan 2013 22:20

47K ohms. Less than 200 pF

Doc

cafe latte
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
Australia

Post by cafe latte » 26 Jan 2013 23:44