Which grado??

the thin end of the wedge
Chrisholt212
United States of America

Which grado??

Post by Chrisholt212 » 26 Jan 2020 04:22

I'm fairly new to the hobby and would like try a grado cart. I listen to alot of classic rock and am definitely one of those who appreciates warmth when listening to old rock records. I have three carts I am using now an at95vl a signet 5.0 and an empire LTD 400. As of right now I prefer the empire over the others for alot of my records because I like the warmer tone. A friend told me that if I like that empire I would love some of the grado carts. What would be a good entry level grado cart to try?? Thanks.

Kingshead

Re: Which grado??

Post by Kingshead » 26 Jan 2020 04:58

I'm hearing good things about the new Prestige Black 2. And here's the thing, it's an easy move up to the 8MZ stylus at some later date.

Ricketts223
Canada

Post by Ricketts223 » 27 Jan 2020 00:56

I just tried a Grado Prestige Blue 2 and it instantly sounded great to my ears, but I have the dreaded hum on my cheaper Pioneer PL200 TT. I am going to set it up on my 1200mk2 next weekend and see if the hum dissappears. But I love the sound besides that.

cafe latte
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
Australia

Post by cafe latte » 27 Jan 2020 02:08

Ricketts223 wrote:
27 Jan 2020 00:56
I just tried a Grado Prestige Blue 2 and it instantly sounded great to my ears, but I have the dreaded hum on my cheaper Pioneer PL200 TT. I am going to set it up on my 1200mk2 next weekend and see if the hum dissappears. But I love the sound besides that.
The blue 2 is the one to get as the difference to the gold 2 is almost non existent, only difference is gold 2 has bitumen damping on cantilever the rest appears to be identical to the blue both in measurements of coils and quality of stylus.
Chris

Ricketts223
Canada

Post by Ricketts223 » 27 Jan 2020 04:10

cafe latte wrote:
27 Jan 2020 02:08