Cartridge Alignment- can I just get the store to do it?

the thin end of the wedge
conoroconnell
Ireland

Cartridge Alignment- can I just get the store to do it?

Post by conoroconnell » 22 Nov 2019 18:59

Hi all.
I probably come across as the most dumb person on this forum, but I have tried and failed to align my VM95E cartridge multiple times. My question is this- is it possible for me to bring my cartridge and headshell along to a record store to get some knowledgeable person to align it for me, or is it a matter which is very specific to my own turntable and tonearm? My turntable is an AT-LP3- is it possible for the store worker to just align the cartridge on a model in the shop? I don't drive as Im only a student, so cannot bring my own turntable. I also do not know anybody who is properly into vinyl.
I consider myself as someone who sticks at something until I get it done, but I'm waving the white flag on this cartridge business!

BTW I would not have these problems if the VM95E had the same shape as the AT95E. Audio Technica uselessly tried to 'modernize' the shape of it by introducing loads of curves- nice to look at, but a b'stard to align.

Umberto_V
Scotland

Re: Cartridge Alignment- can I just get the store to do it?

Post by Umberto_V » 22 Nov 2019 19:35

Have you tried aligning the cantilever (as opposed to the cartridge body). With whatever stylus alignment protractor you are using, put the stylus needle onto the crosshairs of the outer marker and align the cantilever so it is in lined up correctly by twisting the stylus body and moving it back and forth if required in the headshell. Do the same for the inner marker or get it as close as possible and then tighten cartridge bolts, put on a record and listen.

Happy listening :)

conoroconnell
Ireland

Post by conoroconnell » 22 Nov 2019 20:04

Umberto_V wrote:
22 Nov 2019 19:35