Marantz PM6006,Sutherland KC Vibe, 2M Bronz

the thin end of the wedge
Post Reply
rega+rock
junior member
junior member
United States of America
Posts: 5
Joined: 28 Oct 2019 20:31

Marantz PM6006,Sutherland KC Vibe, 2M Bronz

Post by rega+rock » 28 Oct 2019 20:51

I am unsure of hooking up these three. The owners manual for Marantz states using a moving coil it is required to use a phono Preamp. I am trying to hook up my new Rega Planar P3 with a Ortofon 2M Bronze. Can I still use My Sutherland Engineering KC Vibe and use the phono hook up on my Marantz PM6006 integrated amplifier. Any help is appreciated. All the people I need to speak with are closed today.

wojtekf
member
member
Poland
Posts: 87
Joined: 19 Oct 2018 10:02

Re: Marantz PM6006,Sutherland KC Vibe, 2M Bronz

Post by wojtekf » 28 Oct 2019 22:24

2M Bronze is MM cart. You can either use phono input on Marantz PM6006 or use external phono stage plugged into any other Audio In (not Phono). If you use external phono stage (KC Vibe in this case), set it to MM.
Recommended load resistance - 47 kOhm (which often is set automatically when you pick MM)
Recommended load capacitance - 150-300 pF (if it's possible to set the capacitance)
Start with 40 dB gain and see if the volume level is OK.

Issuesman666
senior member
senior member
Trinidad & Tobago
Posts: 648
Joined: 10 Mar 2014 20:05

Re: Marantz PM6006,Sutherland KC Vibe, 2M Bronz

Post by Issuesman666 » 28 Oct 2019 23:35

The 2m bronze is not a moving coil it's a moving magnet.

But your KC vibe phono preamp will work in any case. You will need a spacer to use that 2M bronze on the Rega tonearm.

Post Reply