help with Koetsu cartridge

the thin end of the wedge
Mick1132
United States of America

help with Koetsu cartridge

Post by Mick1132 » 14 Oct 2019 01:39

Newbie here. I’m just getting started in my collection of vintage receivers and turntables. This weekend I picked up a Linn Sondek LP12 at an estate sale. It has an Alphason HR100S tonearm and Koetsu Sky Blue cartridge. I also got a Marantz 2285 at the sale.

Here’s my issue..... when I hook it up to my Pioneer SX780 or Marantz 2285 the volume is very low. I have to crank it up to get a decent sound. I’m hoping someone can explain why and provide a solution. Do I need a preamp?

I have a lot to learn.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Mick

Alec124c41
vinyl engineer
vinyl engineer
Canada

Re: help with Koetsu cartridge

Post by Alec124c41 » 14 Oct 2019 02:15

Your receivers have phono preamps for moving magnet cartridges.
The Koetsu is a moving coil cartridge, with about 1/10 of the output of a MM.
You need a phono preamp that can handle MC cartridges, or a step-up transformer (SUT).
You have acquired high-end gear.

Cheers,
Alec

Mick1132
United States of America

Post by Mick1132 » 14 Oct 2019 02:55

Thanks Alex!! I sincerely appreciate your response. I will check into a preamp. Any recommendations?

I picked up the Linn for $250 hoping it was a good deal.

2002afan
United States of America

Post by 2002afan » 14 Oct 2019 03:29

Mick1132, Welcome. :) Hate to say man, but you got screwed. :^o [-X Seriously, That was one hell of a deal considering what some people are trying to sell them for at 10 times what you stole it for. =D> Now get yourself a real nice phono pre or step up as Alec mentioned and you should be golden. No recommendations with either as I use vintage preamps. The Linn has it's lovers and haters. :roll: Only your ears can be the judge. :P A GREAT DEAL none the less and a real beauty. 8) Good luck.
Cheers,
WillO

Alec124c41
vinyl engineer
vinyl engineer
Canada