Stanton 681EE (?) Disappointment & Recommendation help

the thin end of the wedge
SchillerM

Stanton 681EE (?) Disappointment & Recommendation help

Post by SchillerM » 07 Jul 2019 20:19

*Disclaimer* I am new to all of this, so please forgive any ignorant comments...

As part of my SP-25 system it has a Stanton 681 on it, they stylus has a circle on it where some would say EEE or have an oval. A month or so ago when I was researching I believe I determined it was an EE.

Anyways, I borrowed an Ortofon Concorde Club just for fun and was blown away with how much better sounding it is. I usually have a hard time doing A/B comparisons but this was drastic. The 681 sounds, for lack of knowing proper terms, compressed. It has detail, but lacks range.

I believe the 681 is, essentially, NOS or very very little use if not, I am guessing from early-mid 80s. I don't have a microscope to look at it in detail, but visual inspection and phone shots it doesn't look messed up. I did buy a cheapie scale and set the weight, even played with more and less pressure, noticed no difference. Is there something I can do to see if it's healthy or not?

So I will be needing to return the Concorde and buying something. I am hesitant to just get a new stylus for the 681 unless I can find an issue with the one I have, but since it seems to be a well loved cartridge I am open to it. Not necessarily a fan of the Concorde look so wouldn't likely buy one for my setup.

Budget would be in the $150ish range. Most of our listening is Classic Rock, Punk, etc. Ortofon 2M Red Plug and Play, Grado Prestige (few color options), or ???

*Disclaimer 2* Sorry, not a well structured post, written while watching World Cup with little sleep.

Solist
Slovenia

Re: Stanton 681EE (?) Disappointment & Recommendation help

Post by Solist » 08 Jul 2019 12:12