Cartridge degradation Frequency Response

the thin end of the wedge
Arno P

Cartridge degradation Frequency Response

Post by Arno P » 06 May 2019 12:04

Hi,

I have been using adjust+ for many years now and I got a question regarding the data I am getting.
My Micro Benz LP cartridges always showed a nice flat curve and currently I see a significant boost of 4..5dB at 20Hz that "shelves down" towards a 0....-2dB at 20kHz.
I double-checked with a second RIAA preamp with similar result.

Could this be the effect of the ageing of the cartridge suspension over years?
Should I doubt the Adjust+ software or audio-card (that I kept the same over all these years)?

Thanks in advance for your answers.

Arno

b+v8an

Re: Cartridge degradation Frequency Response

Post by b+v8an » 06 May 2019 17:50

Hello Arno P,
I think that you are suffering from too much information.Without knowing more about your cart or setup,the results could be from just about anything ( dirty stylus ? ). If you don't hear anything different ( 20 Hz,really?) I sure wouldn't worry about it. Perhaps someone else could provide more info. Relax....

patient_ot

Post by patient_ot » 06 May 2019 19:06

I am not super familiar with Adjust+, but I have a general idea of how it works.

Research on cartridges has shown that as they wear, the high frequencies are the first to go. On the CBS STR100, there is something called "playback loss test" that is supposed to be one way to check for a worn stylus.

I think if you suspect something is wrong then getting the cart inspected by the dealer or manufacturer under a microscope is probably the best course of action. How many hours are on this cart?