Here we go again: Cartridge loading / input impedance

the thin end of the wedge
j_nienaber

Here we go again: Cartridge loading / input impedance

Post by j_nienaber » 22 Feb 2019 01:14

Hi all

Long time no speak!

I'm having my birthday today, and was treated (with some hints from me) to a brand spanking new Denon DL-103R cartridge. I know there are a lot of people out there that hate Denon MC cartridges and in particular the 103 series, but I have been wishing for one since the 1980s. My previous cartridge was a DL-160 high-output MC which impressed me so much that I absolutely wanted/needed/cannot live without a 103R.

So... I installed it, and then once the excitement died down a bit I started worrying about things I never usually think about. I'm NOT using a MC transformer, instead at this point relying on the integrated phono pre-preamp in my Yamaha A-S1000. It works fine and is switchable between MM/MC, and the MM side sounds at least as good as (or no discernable difference) my Hagerman Bugle Pre-amp so I am using the MC mode on the Yamaha for now.

Yamaha's specs for the A-S1000's MC pre-amp indicate an input impedance of 50 ohms (input sensitivity being 100 Micro Volts)
Denon's specs for the 103R gives required impedance as 100 ohms minimum and output of 250 microvolts (.25 millivolts)

I also use a NAD 114 pre-amplifier with my Tube amplifiers - input specs for the built-in NAD MC phono pre-amp differs somewhat, but as I'm giving my tube amps a "rest" for a couple of months I only care about the Yamaha specs.

I don't have the foggiest clue what the RCA cabling from my Frankenstein TT will add or subtract (Thorens TD 160, rebuilt from the baseboard up, using a Rega RB250 arm, RCA phono leads from an SME 3009R arm - simply because the SME cables are so much nicer than the original Rega leads).