the home of the turntable

looking for a new cartridge

the thin end of the wedge

looking for a new cartridge

Postby Cdaddy7 » 15 Jul 2018 17:29

Hello
yes I'm a newbie
the site and forum looked to go to be true, so I signed up!

I have a Denon 59L which has only been used for arouund 25 hours or so.
I'm the original buyer, had a bad cart., or ?? the result was very weak sound, and that sounded bad.
Sooo,,, it has been in its box for the last 20++ years.
My kids are after me to set it up, so I have been trying to figure out what would be a "reasonable" cartridge to get for it. It has the straight tone arm. I would like to keep it under $350.00, preferably under 300 (have 5 kids).

your Help is greatly appreciated
Cdaddy7

United States of America

Re: looking for a new cartridge

Postby Agrippa » 15 Jul 2018 19:43

Moving Magnet or Moving Coil?

If MM, I'd strongly consider an Audio-Technica AT440MLb for $237.

If MC, I'd look at an Audio-Technica AT-F7 for $250.

Although I've never actually heard either of them I'm very familiar with a number of their family members. Both should represent more or less the best sound you can get for the money and a little Google-fu will unearth glowing reviews of either cartridge.
Agrippa
contributor

Norway

Postby Cdaddy7 » 15 Jul 2018 21:32

I have an Adcom preamp (and amp 555 series), which has the mm/mc switch.
I do not have an SUT otherwise.
So I'm guessing MM would be suggested?
Cdaddy7

United States of America

Postby br158 » 15 Jul 2018 23:45

Hello to all. I'm looking for a cartridge as well. I think. I have a Technics SL 230 that I put a new belt and cork mat on. It has been in a box for decades but runs beautifully . It has a Grado MT+ . Any room for
improvement ? Staying with MM since its going through an Onkyo 8050 reciever.

Thanks to all
MB
br158

United States of America

Postby raphaelmabo » 16 Jul 2018 09:45

For a smooth and dynamic sound with a touch of warmth and richness: