the home of the turntable

VTA for a NOOB

the thin end of the wedge

VTA for a NOOB

Postby Jdog1958 » 12 May 2018 08:02

I admit it, I'm a Noob! I have a simple Technics SL-Q2 to spin my stuff. I carefully set the overhang and alignment with a protractor on the cartrdge. Recently I upgraded from my budget cartilage, an AT95E, to an AT120E. I am happy with the results so far.

I see posts about vertical tracking angles - I wouldn't know how to measure this, and even if I did, my TT has no adjustment. Is this really that critical for someone like me? I just want to enjoy my vinyls now that I have returned from the CD rabbit hole. As long as they sound good to me, and the AT120E has not disappointed me. Sounds better every night I play it.

Is this a concern or not?

Thanks to all you guys so far for answering my questions, no matter how dumb. I have learned a lot.
AT120E (4).JPG
AT120E
Jdog1958

United States of America

Re: VTA for a NOOB

Postby analogaudio » 12 May 2018 19:21

The conventional wisdom is to have the arm tube parallel with the disc surface when the stylus is playing. If that has been achieved (and small discrepancies don't matter much) then you are in good shape. It happens that carts having different heights cause the arm tube to be not parallel to the disc. When the arm is fixed height some adjustment is sometimes possible by the use of spacers above the cart and/or mat thickness changes.

I am old enough to remember the time VTA was the least of our concerns. The things we were concerned about were getting the tracking force down to minimize wear, the evils of warped and off-center discs and keeping the discs and the stylus clean. Given a half decent player in good condition (and your SL-Q2 was more than half-decent when new) the limiting factor in quality was mostly the loudspeakers not the arm VTA.