the home of the turntable

Looking for the next upgrade step.

the thin end of the wedge

Looking for the next upgrade step.

Postby apoptotic » 03 May 2018 17:48

I'm looking for the weak point in my setup. I'm fairly new to vinyl records and would like to get some suggestions on what needs to be replaced in my setup.

My setup is as follows.
Technics 1200 MK2
LS400 cart with new LP Gear stylus
Onkyo TX-8511
2 x Polk Monitor 60

I'm thinking that I may need to add a sub woofer with speaker level input and new cartridge.
I'm on a fairly small budget, so any recommendations would be appreciated.
Thanks.
apoptotic

United States of America

Re: Looking for the next upgrade step.

Postby Roberto C2H3 » 03 May 2018 23:25

Use your budget to increase your record collection. Preferably, early pressings of previously enjoyed albums in good to great shape. There will always be time to upgrade your gear later. The records will be waiting 8)
Roberto C2H3
long player
long player

Argentina

Postby Roberto C2H3 » 03 May 2018 23:26

By the way, welcome to VE, and congrats on your TT =D>
Roberto C2H3
long player
long player

Argentina

Postby AlwaysAirborne » 04 May 2018 03:43

I have owned most of the gear you are using and think you are off to a good start. Your idea was good. A sub-woofer would add a big punch to your sound. It doesn't need to be that expensive if you buy used. Is Craigslist an option where you live?
AlwaysAirborne

United States of America

Postby rewfew » 05 May 2018 15:09