sound fades out after 4-5 seconds

the thin end of the wedge
atrust

sound fades out after 4-5 seconds

Post by atrust » 09 Dec 2017 22:41

I just bought a realistic lab 400 turntable and hooked it up to my receiver a pioneer vsx 56txi into the phono input. I will add that I am a total newbie to this. I got nothing no sound at all. I researched and bought a phono preamp behringer PP400. I hooked it into the phono in on the audio of the receiver and connected the ground wire and had sound for about 4-5 seconds and than no sound. I tried connecting to the cd audio in and same thing only sound for about 4-5 seconds. Everything else works fine regarding sound. Stumped. I would appreciate any suggestions you might have.

Per-Mikael

Re: sound fades out after 4-5 seconds

Post by Per-Mikael » 10 Dec 2017 10:43

Do you have Line In or Aux In on your receiver? If so, try with connecting your preamp to one of those.

Pikey
England

Post by Pikey » 10 Dec 2017 11:23

Sounds like a connection issue with the amp to me. The amp already has a 'phono' input so you don't need the Behringer ...

Maybe there's something in the 'on-screen' menus to fiddle with as well , they can be a bit bewildering at times these multichannel amps!

Have you got a friend nearby where you can test out the turntable?

atrust

Post by atrust » 10 Dec 2017 15:29

Thank you for your response. I guess I will try to start from scratch again without the preamp. No I don't have a friend to test it out at. I must be missing something but don't know what it is. Thanks again.

terry-a

Post by terry-a » 10 Dec 2017 16:38

The setting for the phono input is addressed on page 80 of your manual. Make sure it's set to phono for direct connection to the turntable. Be sure to reconfigure to line mode if you want to connect an external preamp to this input.

atrust

Post by atrust » 10 Dec 2017 16:44