Dual 601 Turntable - Replace RCA plugs

snap, crackle and pop
Post Reply
Crazyhorse11
junior member
junior member
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 Mar 2015 00:56

Dual 601 Turntable - Replace RCA plugs

Post by Crazyhorse11 » 16 Oct 2017 16:09

I also posted this in the Dual Turntable forum but I dont believe its a topic specifically attributed Dual Turntables so I think I will post here as well. More people will likely see it...

I recently purchased a Dual 601. I noticed last night that one channel wasn't working and I think I've traced it to the RCA plugs from the turntable. One plug has a crack in it so I'm assuming there is some issues there and the wire is likely separated from the terminal inside the plug housing. Would like some advice on if I should replace the entire length of RCA cable back inside of the TT or should I just cut off the plugs and replace them? Has anybody gone thru this exercise? Has anyone used screw type RCA plugs (instead of a soldering type)?

Smoke Screen
senior member
senior member
Posts: 856
Joined: 18 Mar 2008 18:42

Re: Dual 601 Turntable - Replace RCA plugs

Post by Smoke Screen » 16 Oct 2017 17:01

Yeah,just buy a pair of RCA plugs and soldier them. To change the
whole cable is not necessary. Usually the standart cables are of the
low capacitance type and despite being thin they are good shielded.

Crazyhorse11
junior member
junior member
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 Mar 2015 00:56

Re: Dual 601 Turntable - Replace RCA plugs

Post by Crazyhorse11 » 16 Oct 2017 17:46

Thanks kindly Smoke Screen! Appreciate your comments. Do you have experience with the screw type plugs (instead of the typical solder type). I wouldn't say my solder skills are that strong.

Alec124c41
vinyl engineer
vinyl engineer
Canada
Posts: 22076
Joined: 28 Oct 2002 04:24
Location: North of Toronto, Canada

Re: Dual 601 Turntable - Replace RCA plugs

Post by Alec124c41 » 17 Oct 2017 04:29

I have found that replacing the entire cable in a Dual is beneficial to the sound, and easy to do. I have only used $20 - $30 cables.
Some of the Duals even have RCA plugs inside.

Cheers,
Alec

Post Reply