the home of the turntable

Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

snap, crackle and pop

Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

Postby Blackout- » 10 Jan 2017 14:58

hi all,

i like the look of the P3, was ready to jump aboard but then i saw that ugly looking silver brace that makes it look like a strap-on meccano fix. Can that brace be easily lifted off and removed? the P2 doesnt have the brace at all, or is it still there but instead internal inside the plinth? just wandering if the P3 without the brace will cause the plinth to crack or bend if moved around? after all the P2 plinth doesnt seem to be flexible but im not sure whats going on inside the plinth there. Of course another option is to just buy the P2 instead but i do like the RB303 arm on the P3 much better.

many thanks!
Blackout-
member
member
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 01 Jul 2015 16:53

Australia

Re: Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

Postby kb007 » 10 Jan 2017 18:35

It is there for a reason, to provide strength and rigidity to the plinth. Removing it would probably cause the plinth to fold over and you hair to fall out.

Serously, it is there for a very good reason, leave it on and put a piece of black cloth over it if you don't like the look. Or, swap out the entire plinth and get a skeletal acrylic one from Michael Lim.
Main: JMLab Mezzo Utopias, Oracle Delphi 2/3, SME309, Sumiko Celebration, AR CD3, MD FT101, Acoustech Ph1, Moon P5, AR VT-100. Sec: Rega P6/RB900 Lim Iso base, Acrylic skeletal plinth with braces, dbl pulley and weight, gt sub, DV 17D3, Anthem MRX700, 2 X Bryston 4BSST, Totem M1 Sig
kb007
member
member
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 17 Sep 2015 12:40

Canada

Re: Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

Postby fudgemaster » 10 Jan 2017 21:15

Look beyond the strap, Blackout, it's there for a reason. As kb007 says, it's there to give added rigidity to the deck. My RP3 has a black strap, so may be a lower visual impact. But if you don't buy the P3 (is it the latest incarnation of the Planar 3, the P3 or the previous RP3 version? The RP3 has the RB303 arm, the P3 has the better RB330 arm) you'll miss out on what is a very good turntable. And you'll regret buying the P2 when you hear the P3, I think. Is a dem available for both decks?
Rega RP3/RB303/Nagaoka MP110 CA 640P NaimUniti Mk1 NACA4 Royd Doublets
fudgemaster
member
member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 05 Jan 2015 20:58
Location: Notts/Derbys

United Kingdom

Re: Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

Postby Blackout- » 10 Jan 2017 22:49

hi Fudgemaster...thanks for responding, i didnt know there was a black strap available!. Ive only seen silver. I was after a black plinth so maybe with a black strap its not so bad. Ill see if my dealer can get me one with a black strap. (yes my apologies it is the new P3 with the RB330 arm).

it seems so many other companies that use 3rd party arms tend to go for the Project arms otherwise i would have been considering another TT combo. The RB330 arm is for me. I hate that dodgy looking home-brew look of the fishing line sinker thing that hangs off most other arms! Thanks for the lead also kb007 ill look up Michael Lim.

Cheers!
Blackout
Blackout-
member
member
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 01 Jul 2015 16:53

Australia

Re: Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

Postby Blackout- » 11 Jan 2017 08:41

spoke to the local hifi shop today.

they said there is "no such thing" as a model of the P3 with a "black strap" instead of silver.

I asked him if he wanted to check with the Rega distributor before giving me the definitive answer....he said "No need..i know for sure because ..I USED TO WORK THERE! So tell youre friends online they are full of rubbish".

hmmm...
Blackout-
member
member
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 01 Jul 2015 16:53

Australia

Re: Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

Postby ammarmariti » 11 Jan 2017 08:55

Is there a difference between RP3 and P3? There is only P3 listed in the official Rega products page but everywhere else they're reviewed or referred to as RP3 for the recent version.

rega rp3.jpg
User avatar
ammarmariti
senior member
senior member
 
Posts: 267
Joined: 04 Jan 2013 22:41

Malaysia

Re: Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

Postby Blackout- » 11 Jan 2017 13:54

ammarmariti...im confused about that too. eg Wiki lists the current model (2012-2016) as the RP3?? not the P3? but hey its hard to trust Wiki.

I guess the easiest way to check is if it has a RB303 arm (old version) or RB330 arm (2016 new version)? i do know that my dealer has both an RP3 and P3 model in stock. So maybe we are in a transition period at the moment?
Blackout-
member
member
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 01 Jul 2015 16:53

Australia

Re: Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

Postby kb007 » 11 Jan 2017 14:38

The whole P3/RP3 thing is mostly just when it was produced. But, a lot of people, myself included, tend to inadvertently use them interchangeably. Often people will call a P3 an RP3 thinking that it's a Rega P3, not a Rega RP3. shame on Rega for making it confusing like that! Best thing, if you can is to find out what the date code or year produced is, and the tonearm that's installed. Rega did introduce a new P3 late last year iirc, adding to the confusion.
Main: JMLab Mezzo Utopias, Oracle Delphi 2/3, SME309, Sumiko Celebration, AR CD3, MD FT101, Acoustech Ph1, Moon P5, AR VT-100. Sec: Rega P6/RB900 Lim Iso base, Acrylic skeletal plinth with braces, dbl pulley and weight, gt sub, DV 17D3, Anthem MRX700, 2 X Bryston 4BSST, Totem M1 Sig
kb007
member
member
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 17 Sep 2015 12:40

Canada

Re: Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

Postby andybeau » 11 Jan 2017 14:45

New Rega is P3 previous was RP3 before that P3-24, before that P3/Planer 3.

New P3 launched last year replacing RP3(which was first to have the brace)

Old line up;
RP1
Rp3
RP6
RP8
RP10
new line up replacing RP1 & RP3 with 6 onwards unchanged at this moment
P1
P2
P3
User avatar
andybeau
long player
long player
 
Posts: 2563
Joined: 06 Jun 2013 20:47
Location: Coventry, West Midlands

England

Re: Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

Postby markcass » 11 Jan 2017 15:12

Although they have dropped the 'P' prefix for the new models and revived the 'Planar' name used for the original Rega decks.

The '2016' range begins with:

Planar 1
Planar 2
Planar 3

It's been hinted that 'P' models higher up the line will be replaced, too.

HTH

Mark
Nottingham Analogue Ace Spacedeck+Origin Live Onyx. Ortofon Quintet Bronze>"Lounging Rogue" (Lounge Audio Copla step up+Rogue Audio Stealth in MM mode). Arcam A28>KEF R100. Sennheiser HD600. Marantz CD6005
markcass
long player
long player
contributor
 
Posts: 1134
Images: 15
Joined: 26 Oct 2002 23:16
Location: Surrey

United Kingdom

Re: Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

Postby Blackout- » 11 Jan 2017 15:27

so the question is....is there a model with the RB330 tonearm that has a black brace?
Blackout-
member
member
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 01 Jul 2015 16:53

Australia

Re: Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

Postby DeepEnd » 11 Jan 2017 15:58

I think Rega have run out of ideas for the new version on the "3" and have gone back to a previous (1975) name in 2016.

If I remember correctly it goes (might be a bit wrong but)

Planet (1973)
Planar (1974)
Planar 3 (1975) updated 1983 with RB300 arm
P3 (2000) thinner plinth and various colours added.
P3/24 (2007) 24v motor and RB301arm
RP3 (2011) RB303 arm and additional braces (black)
Planar 3 (2016) with RB330 arm and silver top brace.

In addition anniversary models P25 (1998) and P40 (2013) with a mixture of "3" and higher spec model parts/specs. Lower spec 2's and1's added at various point and higher spec units 5,7,9 then 6, 8,10.too.

The problem is that we have got used to calling all of them P3's
(LP) Rega Planar 3/RB300/A&R-P78+FG2 (CD)Rega Planet-2000, (Amp) Musical Fidelity A3.2, (Speakers) Rega RS3
DeepEnd
senior member
senior member
contributor
 
Posts: 529
Joined: 19 Dec 2014 11:21
Location: Lancashire

United Kingdom

Re: Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

Postby Officerpup » 11 Jan 2017 16:10

Blackout- wrote:so the question is....is there a model with the RB330 tonearm that has a black brace?

Doesn't appear to be from their web-site . . .

If it's that offensive, take it off and spray it black.
Officerpup
member
member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: 17 Jun 2011 14:45
Location: Bath

Re: Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

Postby fudgemaster » 11 Jan 2017 21:02

Thanks for the clarification, andybeau and DeepEnd, that looks about right. the first Planar2 & 3 had the R200 arm, until 1983.
Blackout, I was assuming that Rega had different colourways, with some models having silver straps, others black. My RP3 has a black strap, and looking on the Rega site, both colours have silver straps - sorry.
However, my comment on looking past the strap colour remains; you'll be missing out on a great deck. I upgraded my 1980s Planar3/R200 to my current RP3/RB303, shortly before the new (current) version of the Planar 3 came out, and the improvement was night and day. If it really does annoy you, I'm sure that either black tape or paint will work?
Or you could look out for a used RP3, which should still be in good condition. Rega RB300-onwards arms are often used by aftermarket companies, to be modified, so they must be quite good?
Rega RP3/RB303/Nagaoka MP110 CA 640P NaimUniti Mk1 NACA4 Royd Doublets
fudgemaster
member
member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 05 Jan 2015 20:58
Location: Notts/Derbys

United Kingdom

Re: Rega P3 - can i remove the brace?

Postby Blackout- » 11 Jan 2017 22:31

Officerpup wrote:
Blackout- wrote:so the question is....is there a model with the RB330 tonearm that has a black brace?

Doesn't appear to be from their web-site . . .

If it's that offensive, take it off and spray it black.


I could get a RP3 black strap as a spare part and put it on my new P3 when I buy it, replacing the silver top one.

anyone know if it will fit?
Blackout-
member
member
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 01 Jul 2015 16:53

Australia

Next

Return to Turntables and Tonearms