the home of the turntable

Pro-Ject Debut line - differences

snap, crackle and pop

Pro-Ject Debut line - differences

Postby Cube Bass » 10 Jan 2017 09:00

Hello,

I'm in the middle of decision on my first turntable and I'm considering one of those entry level Pro-Jects. As I'm new to this world I feel confused with the variations of their Debut line.

Some of them are upgraded with carbon tonearm and the others (Esprit) with acrylic platter. Some do have both, but as a beginner I'm not sure if I want to spend that much because I have to buy some phono stage as well (also still undecided).

So, which one of those improvements is more important or affect the resulting sound in better way?

The acrylic platter/aluminium tonearm is "Pro-ject Debut III DC Esprit Piano + OM10"
The metal platter/carbon tonearm is "Pro-Ject Debut Carbon DC + OM 10" or more expensive version with 2M Red cartridge..

Not sure if I want spend that much, so considerations are also cheaper Debut III with OM5e or Essential II also with OM5e. Both are with aluminium tonearm, the Essential II have MDF platter.

What would you suggest?

Thanks, Cube Bass
Cube Bass

Re: Pro-Ject Debut line - differences

Postby metrofarm » 10 Jan 2017 11:03

Welcome to the world of vinyl records and to this forum!

Wow, there's a lot of choices in the Pro-ject range! I don't have any experience with the current range but I have a few thoughts as a Pro-ject turntable owner myself (of a much, much older Pro-ject 6).

For me the key difference between the Essential range and the Debut range is that the later has a 'speed-box' type of feature - i.e. the motor can electronically regulate the speed to be more exact than a non-regulated motor. Otherwise it's the same basic idea for both ranges: motor>>belt>>platter. Speed regulation might be a useful feature and it might not.